Pita Duos

Happy Labor Day, lovies!

In the spirit of…you know, laboring, I decided to try out a new breakfast idea that’s been mulling in my mind for a few days, but this turned out to take hardly any effort at all.

Marinara Tofu Pitas

  • 1/3 block extra firm tofu
  • 1 cup baby spinach
  • 3 tablespoons marinara sauce of your choice
  • 1 teaspoon butter/buttery spread (I use Smart Balance Light to veganize)
  • dash of pepper
  • whole wheat pita

Directions: Press/drain and crumble tofu into a large saucepan with butter and pepper and sautee’ until slightly browned. Stir in marinara; drop in spinach and continue to cook. While the spinach wilts, halve and toast your pita. Remove tofu filling from heat and transfer to pita pocket.

As per usual, a little somethin’ somethin’ sweet was in order, so the other half of the pita got slathered in more Smart Balance and sprinkled with cinnamon. It needed a little something else – perhaps a little melted dark chocolate inside? Things to ponder as I enjoy a lazy day…

Enjoy your Mondays!

6 Comments on “Pita Duos”

  1. Krista says:

    Oooh! Love that tofu stuffed pita!! YUM…

  2. What a great and healthy breakfast!
    Nice work!

  3. Faith says:

    The stuffed pita looks incredible! Happy Labor Day!

  4. I love tofu, but I have never thought to use it in a pita! Great idea!

  5. That recipe for tofu looks good! I just had tofu again today for the first time in awhile and realized how much I missed it! I might try it 🙂 Have a good day!!

  6. that looks insanely good, my friend. insanely good.
    🙂 some daiya in that would make it super gooey and cheesey and now my mouth is watering!


Leave a Reply

