Let it Go

One of the hardest things is to hold my tongue when certain choice words are brewing up in my mind. When I get good and stressed, I could make Jon Gruden blush.

I’ll go out on a ledge here and say that getting your wallet stolen amidst Labor Day celebrations qualifies as stressful. Especially when it contains your social security card, your car and health insurance information, and not only your license but the license a friend asked you to stash for the evening to avoid it getting lost.

Scheisse.

I’m doing my best to just let it go. It’s done, it’s over with; I’m in the process of canceling checks and putting out fraud alerts, and wallowing in the sucktasticness of the situation simply isn’t going to do me any good. I have to just trust that I”ll be able to face whatever may come of this. I’m pulling a page out of Angela’s book and reminding myself that I am stronger than I think. I just have to trust.

Everything in life operates on trust. Without it, you’re stumbling blindly and closing yourself off to life. Even with it, you may still wind up blindly stumbling, but you don’t waste all your energy worrying about the bruises. I’ve already resigned myself to living without fear of falling, and here the same principle of trust has to apply. I trust my body to recover from an illness and my ego to recover from missing a goal; I have to trust that I’ll be able to recover from this as well.

10 Comments on “Let it Go”

  1. I am so sorry to hear about the wallet – that sucks!

  2. Sarah says:

    Wow, it’s annoying that you have to deal with a stolen wallet. It sounds like you’re handling the situation about as best as you could, though.

  3. Molly says:

    A couple weeks ago my a thief busted my friend’s car window (while she was in church) and stole her purse. Within hours, there were thousands of dollars racked up on her credit card. She also lost family items with sentimental value. She said it was one of the worst days of her life and it is CRAZY what she had to do to take care of it all, but she’s staying strong. I know you can too! Best wishes sent your way and know that everything will be okay.

  4. Britta says:

    I love this πŸ™‚ It’s difficult to actually apply philosophy and moral to the situation that calls for it most, but it is this application that solidifies the embodiment of that attribute. Sometimes trying to find forgiveness for and feel compassion towards the person who did this to you can help also πŸ™‚

  5. I’m so sorry that your wallet got stolen!

  6. Therese says:

    Oh my gosh! That sucks! Sounds like you’re doing the best you can in light of it though. Good for you!

  7. Have you seen bad boys 2?

    Rub your ears . . . woooooossaaaaahhhhhh

  8. Krista says:

    What an utter bummer! Hopefully it will turn up. What a hassle, hun! 😦

  9. Faith says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your wallet! I’ve had my apartment burglarized in the past so I know how violating it feels to be stolen from. Don’t let the jerk who did it take your happiness too though.

  10. I’m really sorry. That sucks no matter how you look at it, but your attitude is in the right place. Letting it go is hard, but so freeing. It will work out.


Leave a Reply

