Sangria-Soaked Tri-Pepper Pasta

Hello, hello! Is anyone else operating one day behind like I am? I have to keep reminding myself that it’s Wednesday, not Tuesday! My mental calendar is all sorts of confused, which is so not good as I’m trying to fall into stride at my new job!

It turns out that there’s a top-notch vegetarian restaurant only 2 miles away from the preschool…it’s called the Lovely as Charged kitchen 😉 This means I’ll get to play around with more substantial and innovative lunches. I’m not sure what that translates to for the blog and my posting schedule, so bear with me as things regulate – we’ll see what comes of that setup shortly!

Passing my beloved produce stand on the way home also means I’ll be stocking up on fresh goods more frequently; dinner tonight was definitely inspired by a 3/$1 sale on peppers and a $1.25 basil plant!blog 1253

Once when I was younger (around 8 or 9) my grandmother and I both got baby basil plants; she meticulously gardened hers and I plopped it on the back porch where my dog “watered” it for me…mine grew like crazy and hers petered out with a few weeks! Other than puppy pee…does anyone have any tips to keep her alive?

Apparently, I’ve developed an appreciation for peppers, which had previously fallen into the “consuming this will kill you DED” category. Thanks, taste buds, for changing faster than my kiddo’s pants.

The only natural course of action here was to base my dinner around them! blog 1262

Sangria-Soaked Tri-Pepper Pasta!

(Technically serves two ordinary people, but this carb queen ate it in one serving)

  • 3 Roma tomatoes
  • 1/3 red pepper
  • 1/3 yellow pepper
  • 1/3 green pepper
  • 3 cloves fresh garlic
  • 1/4 cup Sangria
  • 1/8 cup loosely packed fresh basil leaves
  • 1 teaspoon Turbinado sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil or EVOO
  • Sea salt and black pepper to taste
  • Single or double serving of your favorite whole wheat pasta

blog 1261

Directions: Eviscerate and cube peppers; sauté’ in chosen oil over low heat. Eviscerate and chop tomatoes, add to pan with peppers. Pour in sangria and continue to cook on low heat, stirring frequently for 3-5 minutes. Mince garlic and basil; add to mixture, and sprinkle in the sugar, salt, and pepper. Continue to stir for 3-5 minutes or until desired soft texture of vegetables is reached. Serve hot atop noodles.

blog 1260

Scarf-ville. As much as I tried to savor it, I pretty much inhaled it. The flavors of this were absolutely up my alley – I favor sweet pasta toppers over spicy, aggressive Arrabiatas any day.

I’m debating a run vs. a yoga session before Criminal Minds tonight – it’s one of the only shows I watch on a routine basis! Shemar Moore is le sex.

What are your can’t miss shows?

10 Comments on “Sangria-Soaked Tri-Pepper Pasta”

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Yummy! This looks so good! I love the photography 🙂

    (By the way, your new layout looks good!)

  2. I looooove peppers. And with Sangria? I never would’ve thought to do that. This is definitely on my list of things to make asap!

    I used to have it BAD for Shemar Moore back in the day when he was on The Young and the Restless. I would record it on my VCR and drool over his fineness.

  3. speaking of sexy, this is a sexy lil’ trio of peppers atop a lovely plate of pasta! looks YUM!

    wish i had a green thumb. i kill all plants by accident – even simple herb plants. sad, really.

  4. You said Sangria and I was already sold!

  5. I just saw one of those basil plants at Trader Joe’s today and considered buying one. Maybe I will.

    My can’t miss show was Lost so now… we’ll see. Friday Night Lights is also AWESOME but I can’t see it until next summer! I plan on watching new fall shows like crazy so I should find some new obsessions.

  6. I have a few “can’t miss” shows, which include mostly reality shows, as well as Grey’s Anatomy.

    That pasta looks absolutely mouth-watering!!

  7. Krista says:

    I’m a Criminal Minds fanatic! LOL! Great pasta dish, Faith…

  8. Sarah says:

    Yum, I love a fresh-veggie-filled meal!
    My TV shows of choice are Bones and Community, although I don’t believe either of them are airing quite yet.

  9. This is very creative..I like! And I have most of those ingredients to boot! 😉

  10. Got caught up on True Blood tonight and Dexter….both quite violent 🙂 Did a post on “strong female leads” and new fall shows recently!

    That pasta looks to die for!


Leave a Reply

