Caffeine Jitters

Let’s talk about the bad decision of drinking a mug of coffee the size of (if not bigger than) your head. (*Disclaimer: I have abnormally huge travel mugs – NOT an abnormally huge head.)

Pro: You have enough energy to blow through all your morning tasks.

Con: You have to pee like a racehorse within 15 minutes of consumption.

Pro: It warms you up enough internally that you don’t care that your classroom might as well be in Antarctica.

Con: You have to pee. Again.

Pro: You focus really well for about an hour.

Con: After said hour is up, you vaguely resemble a Chihuahua as you shake like  crazy and twitch a little bit when anybody says your name.

When you feel your heart start to race (without a handsome man in the immediate vicinity), it’s time to step away from the ‘Bux.

Needless to say, this was not the most pleasant morning for me. Between the nausea, the shakes, and the odd “my heart may or may not explode” feeling, I was a bit of a mess.

Sadly enough, all I really could stomach for lunch was a smoothie. Enter a POM Wonderful + Green Tea tummy-nurser:

blog 1268

In the mix:

  • 1 and 1/2 frozen bananas
  • 5 ice cubes
  • 6 oz POM Wonderful
  • 3 oz orange juice
  • contents of 1 (unbrewed) green tea bag

blog 1266

Thanfully while I was home I had the foresight to grab a little something else for later in the afternoon, because I had a hunch I’d be hungry within the hour. Without a lot of time to assemble, I tossed together a quick pita with spinach, hummus, and tofu bologna:

blog 888

Muuuuch better.

You know what else is better? THE NFL IS BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Not that I’m excited or anything. That may be the last little bit of caffeine from this morning working it’s way out of my system.

Speaking of the NFL, I’ll be starting a new series on Sunday where I’ll base a meal on the regional cuisine of the Tampa Bay Bucaneers’ opponents’ hometown. (Ya follow? As in…if they play New Orleans, I may go with a gumbo, etc…) Hopefully this will be a fun way to get thinking outside the box at least once a week!  Any Ohio residents have any tips on local fare for this weekend’s game against Cleveland?

Do you follow any sports, either collegiate or pro?

13 Comments on “Caffeine Jitters”

  1. Jessica says:

    Do you live in Tampa or just like the Bucs? I live here and it would be sooo cool if a blogger that I follow did too!

  2. ooh I’ve been drinking waaaay too much coffee lately… Monday I had about 8 cups! EEK!!
    I have had a small twitch in my left eye since yesterday. It is time to cut back on the bean.

    • Faith says:

      love it! 8 cups was my usual “in college” normal…every time my friends would pass me on campus with a cup of coffee they’d try to guess what number I was on for the day.

  3. I feel you on the caffeine! It used to not affect me, but lately I’ve only been drinking a cup in the morning and a cup in the afternoon… and have noticed that if I have any more, my heart feels like it’s freaking out! haha. That and…peeing like a racehorse. Yeah.
    And I LOVE your new NFL cooking “game”! I need to start expanding my regional eats, I ought to think of something similar 🙂

  4. My boyfriend has gotten me to follow basketball a little bit. I am also planning to finally start following college football now that I am a senior, but at a school with an actual good team! 🙂

  5. I loooove coffee and I wish I could drink it constantly.

    And I looooove football and that is it.

  6. Brandi says:

    Hi, my name is Brandi and I’m a college football addict.

    And I don’t want help for it 🙂 LOVE football. So happy it’s fall again – I’ve been waiting since January!

  7. I follow CFL football a little bit – I just want to make sure that my team (Sask. Roughriders) win!

  8. Faith says:

    I love your Sunday NFL meal idea, that’s so cool! I had no idea you live in Tampa! I went to law school in St. Pete. (Sadly, after law school I moved back to NY…but I miss the Sunshine State!) 😉

  9. Wooohooo! So excited that the NFL is starting back up again. The spark in my life is being revived again! 🙂

  10. Krista says:

    I feel the exact same way after too much coffee! I can’t understand why some people crave the feeling. Weird…

    Due to having two hockey freaks in my house, I’m kinda forced into watching the NHL…


Leave a Reply

