Why is there no naptime for grownups?

Two hours of (relative) peace and (almost) quiet is the best thing I could have ever asked for. Working with older children, I forgot just how grating nonstop crying can be…separation anxiety in toddlers is a bitch! I’m going to need to get some caffeine back in my bloodstream STAT, or I’m not able to guarantee that I’m not going to stab out my eardrums.

I’m all about the comfort foods right now.

Exhibit A:

blog 922 

The ultimate in comfort food (for me, anyways): whole wheat linguine with marinara sauce and TVP, plus spinach + garlic.

Exhibit B:

Tofu scramble with broccoli, spinach, yellow squash, and tomatoes, and a healthy dousing of balsamic vinaigrette.

blog 903 

I’d show you exhibit C, but you really don’t want to see an empty Green & Black’s wrapper and an empty wine glass, do you? Didn’t think so.

Thank. God. It’s. Friday.

Football time. There’s nothing more cathartic than screaming like hell (and having a legitimate excuse). Now excuse me while my head implodes.

What are your comfort foods? And more importantly, HOW THE HELL do you get a bawling toddler to stop wailing for mommy? I’ve tried EVERYTHING and she still screams for hours on end!

7 Comments on “Why is there no naptime for grownups?”

  1. I am loving exhibit A – it looks delish!!!

    Soup is my number one comfort food.

  2. Kristie says:

    No advice on the toddler. Maybe she likes to be sung to, try that? Haha.

    Comfort foods = PASTA, of pretty much any kind. Or soup and sandwiches (grilled cheese!). mmmm.

  3. Sarah says:

    Your comfort foods of choice look (and sound) absolutely delicious. My favorite is Cooking Light’s Quick Fall Minestrone with Food Should Taste Good chips on top.
    One idea I’ve tried in the past is bringing in containers of bubbles and just blowing them around. Toddlers get really mesmerized by them and love to try to pop them. (Are you allowed to do things like that?) It may take a few minutes, though, until they realize it’s okay to stop trying to get mommy to come back.

  4. Krista says:

    Eggs in any form are a comfort food for me.

    Good luck with the toddler! I’d say to try distraction, but I’m positive you’ve been there, done that! 😉

  5. Caffiene might promote headaches from all the screaming and toddlering… good luck with this! I think some immune support is important with the little boogers as well. 🙂

  6. Faith says:

    I totally miss naptime! 😉 My favorite comfort food is cheese…mmmmm! As far as the crying toddler, diversions have helped me in the past, like going to the park or watching a Disney movie…good luck! 🙂

  7. Marinara sauce sounds so good, pasta is my ultimate comfort food 🙂

    ps. I’ve been trying to tell my boss we should have naptimes at work too but so far he’s not been very keen on the idea 😉


Leave a Reply

