Eat your greens like the Browns

Saturday sped by and came to an absolutely gorgeous end…

blog 1285

But it was easy to say goodbye to Saturday because it meant Football Sunday was just around the corner!

Shall we now proceed to eat our way through the NFL?

I say we shall!

blog 1295

Cleveland wasn’t exactly giving me a lot to work with in terms of regional cuisine. I heard a bit about a famous pierogie restaurant, but I wasn’t feeling quite that ambitions.

Instead, seeing as the Browns’ helmets are orange (does this bother anyone else? Wouldn’t brown have been the logical choice here?), I decided to try out the orange sauce I’d seen in my Healthy Cooking for Two or Just You cookbook. Several of you thought it sounded interesting when I described the original recipe as served over asparagus, but seeing as I had a serving of fresh green beans at their prime, I chose to spoon the simple orange sauce over those instead.

blog 1301

  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1 teaspoon orange rind (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon corn starch
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons butter (I used Smart Balance Light)

By combining the first three ingredients over low heat and finishing up by adding the butter/margarine, a rich and creamy sauce is created that I can only imagine would be excellent with any vegetable!

blog 1300

For some requisite carb-age, I pulled together a nice side of High-Protein Lemon Pepper Rice

  • 1/4 cup brown rice
  • 1/4 cup rehydrated TVP
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 teaspoon Smart Balance Light (or butter of choice)
  • 3/4 teaspoon lemon pepper seasoning

Directions: Bring water to a boil; add rice and lemon pepper seasoning. Cover and reduce heat to low; as rice simmers, lightly brown the TVP in a separate saucepan. Combine rice and TVP and stir in butter.

blog 1296

For dessert, I sliced up the orange that I’d butchered for a rind for the sauce…

blog 1307

So delicious and juicy!

Up next Sunday: Carolina Panthers. Any ideas on a Carolina-inspired meal? This one’s gonna be a major challenge!

LETS GO BOYS!

blog 684

14 Comments on “Eat your greens like the Browns”

  1. What a beautiful sky!!
    The rice looks great- lemon pepper is such a neglected spice- I’m glad you brought it out!!
    Something I really appreciate about your blog is how effortless you make vegetarianism seem. I love that you don’t create fussy meals or use a lot of obscure ingredients. It’s so down to earth and it is wonderful!

  2. Great looking eats in this post, and beautiful pictures!

  3. eatspinlive says:

    This looks delicious! What a great post 🙂

  4. Gorgeous blog, or should I say lovely. The meal looks delish, definitely excited to start following you and begin making soups!

  5. I love your idea of cooking something from each city the Bucs play at. Congrats on their win! I gotta say, the Browns surprised me. It was a close game!

  6. Yummmm that rice looks good.

    And this is my first time stopping by, so hello 😀

  7. Kate says:

    Hey thank you for the comment 🙂

    Have you had pierogies before? Ohhh they are so good. The old Polish ladies at my grandma’s church make them fresh and that’s where I get mine, but Smitten Kitchen has a recipe I’ve been wanting to try for myself and it doesn’t look too tough. The meal you came up with looks very good though! I’ve never had TVP but I’m intrigued.

  8. Sportsgirl says:

    Pretty sky picture!

    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  9. Krista says:

    I love the sound of that sauce! It does sound like it would pair perfectly with boatloads of produce!

  10. I love lemon pepper at the moment and your rice sounds very good. I also tried a new lime pepper brand which is amazingly good too!

  11. Paige says:

    That’s so cute that you coordinated colors for it! Looks yummy!!


Leave a Reply

