I win at life.

So says the text message I sent The Coach after I nailed a little kitchen experiment last night.

I got a bug up my butt to go play with food (excellently timed to boot, at almost 10 pm) and indulged the idea of a nutrient-complete dish to pop into Tupperware throughout the week for lunches.

He’s already seen his share of my culinary bombs, so he was a bit skeptical when I decided to go recipe-free on a kitchen mission.ย  Am I the only one who takes skepticism as intense motivation? Suffice it to say I was pretty psyched to tell him it turned out pretty frickin’ fantastic.

Creamy Rustic Barley

  • 16 ounces baby portabello mushrooms, diced
  • 3 cups water (for the barley)
  • 2.5 cups water (for the lentils)
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 small container plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup (dry) pearled barley
  • 1/2 cup (dry) lentils
  • 1/4 white onion, cut into large chunks
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon butter/margarine/substitute of choice (I used Smart Balance Light)
  • 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon all-purpose seasoning salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon marjoram
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions: Bring water to a boil; add all spices, onion chunks, and barley; reduce heat and simmer until all the liquid has been absorbed and the barley is at your desired firm yet chewy texture. In a separate pot, bring water to a boil and add lentils; cook until soft. In a large saucepan, sautee’ mushrooms and diced onions in the olive oil. Chop carrots and boil until soft. Drain lentils and add to barley along with the sauteed mushrooms and onions. Stir in the Greek yogurt and the butter/butter substitute and gloat as necessary over the deliciousness of what you just cooked.


*Note: For a vegan version, omit the Greek yogurt. I sampled this before I decided to add the Greek ‘gurt and I think I may actually prefer the non-dairy version better…but a coworker had given me a container of plain Oikos to try and I wanted to give it a go.

Carbs? Check. Protein? Check and Check. Veggies and a little bit of healthy fat? Done!

What’s your favorite one-dish dinner?

15 Comments on “I win at life.”

  1. looks fantastic! congrats with the successful recipe-free dish!

  2. Haha love the title of this post ๐Ÿ™‚

    That dish looks awesome! I’ve never cooked barley before, but I’ve it’s really good for you. And you make it seem so easy. You’ve inspired me to get more creative with my next one dish meal.

  3. I LOVE BARLEY! I’ve noticed that I totally love peasant food. I would definitely make that (minus the yogurt, of course).

  4. Congrats on the recipe-free dish! i always feel like a mad scientist whenever I venture forth into the kitchen without a plan in-hand. I might even let out a mad scientist cackle during the cooking proceedings….just for effect. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I love soups, stew, chili … pretty much all one-dish dinners. Yours looks FABULOUS!!

  6. Soup or salad that involves throwing all the leftovers in my fridge into the same bowl. it usually tends to turn out edible. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Sarah says:

    Yum! Your recipe looks absolutely scrumptious!

  8. Krista says:

    I love barley and lentils so this obviously sounds fantastic to me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. mmm barley!! I need to get back to you on my fave 1-pot dinner… My boyfriend always jokes that I use up every dish in the kitchen every time I cook ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Love this well-balanced meal! I’m glad you stepped up to the challenge. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Shannon says:

    barley is a new love of mine, i totally need to make it more ๐Ÿ™‚ this looks fantastic! and lentils, need to have those make more of an appearance, too!

  12. julie says:

    YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM this would be so good with my new obsession with bulgur!!!! i’m loving all of these fun grain recipes i’ve been seeing lately ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. ooh, what a perfect, complete meal! it looks great – and i definitely find skepticism as motivation ๐Ÿ˜‰


Leave a Reply

