Simplicity is Key

When the figurative plate of life gets too full, our own plates tend to suffer. Convenience takes precedence over health.

blog 1352

Animal crackers become a viable mid-afternoon snack. You begin to wonder if your students were onto something valuable with the whole “eating glue” business. You then remember you have a blog and that’s just too gross to subject your readers to, much less your intestines.

Five high fructose corn syrup elephants (not to mention a few shots of apple juice out of a dixie cup) later, I reclaimed my life and my belly. Busy and frazzled does not have to mean processed crap is okay.

Enter dinner, which I somehow consumed in three different areas of my house:

Chopped green lettuce + crumbled tofu + balsamic vinaigrette for the first course…(in the kitchen)

blog 604

Corn for the second… (In my bed)

blog 585

And peach POM soft serve for the third! (In the will-soon-be-an-office/den)

blog 1351

  • 1 large frozen banana
  • 1/2 frozen peach
  • 5 ounces POM wonderful juice

I think had I not been freezing to death I’d have inhaled that bowl in three seconds flat – it was that delish! POM makes the most wonderful addition to smoothies and soft serve.

I promise, no matter how stressed and busy I get, no more thoughtless, nutrition-less meals and snacks!

What are your go-to “No time, no energy, but NO CRAP” meals?

7 Comments on “Simplicity is Key”

  1. peach soft serve sounds awesome! I recently read that peach & ginger are amazing together- I need to try that out!
    My no crap meal is definitely chickpea masala- it just takes 15 minutes to put together and all you need are a can of chickpeas, onion, tomato, and some spices and oil! That with a whole wheat tortilla is great!

  2. Sarah says:

    One of my easy no-crap meals is homemade hummus or fresh avocado + freshly cooked eggs on an ezekiel tortilla or on an ezekiel english muffin. (Yup, I’m slightly addicted to ezekiel products.)

  3. Veggie burger! It is so easy to just heat one up in the toaster over and slap it on an english muffin. Easy peasy.

  4. Pita pizzas are perfect for no time and no energy, and no crap – whole wheat pizzas, loaded with veggies!!! MMMmmmm!

  5. Haha corn in your bed. That’s funny.

    My most frequent quick meal is leftovers, and then instant colcannon (microwaved potato, steamed kale, nooch, salt and pepper, five minutes including cleanup). I also like salads where salsa provides the majority of the flavor if I’m in a hurry and don’t have the patience to make it taste good.

  6. Mine must be a oat-cranberry bar I just recently discovered, it’s delicious, healthy and a perfect snack to keep in my purse for emergencies 🙂

  7. Krista says:

    I go to’s are eggs. Easy, quick, filling and yummy!!


Leave a Reply

