Experimentus Interruptus

Happy football Sunday!

Anyone else psyched about the Manning Bowl? LEZ GO PEYTON!

Today, at my family’s request, I’m bringing the Coach home for an afternoon of gridiron action, so sadly, my game day meals aren’t going to be built around the Carolina Panthers (not that I exactly had a brilliant idea there anyways). I’ve been promised a spread of healthified snacks with options for the vegans, vegetarians, carnivores, and all of the above, as well as a homemade dessert…suffice it to say I’m intrigued!

Despite my disaffection for pumpkin, I’m not completely shunning fall flavors in my kitchen! In fact, yesterday I whipped up the simplest yet most delicious soup I’ve ever made from scratch! Well, that…or I inhaled so many fumes over the course of for hours of vigorous house cleaning that I killed a few brain cells and taste buds 😉

Ahem. Quite tasty nonetheless.

Easy Vegan Acorn Squash Soup

  • 1 medium acorn squash
  • 2 1/4 cups non-dairy milk (I used almond)
  • 3 large carrots
  • 1/2 sweet vidalia onion
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

Bake squash whole by slicing several holes in the top and placing on a baking sheet for approximately an hour (until skin is tender) at 350 degrees.

After removing the squash from the oven, slice and boil carrots and onions.

Slice open the squash, scoop out the seeds and strings, and spoon the pulp into a food processor. Add a faint drizzle of olive oil and puree. Do the same with the carrots.

Combine squash and carrot puree with your “milk” in a large pot over medium heat. Add in onions, basil, salt, and pepper. Simmer for 5-10 minutes.

Sweet and woodsy/nutty at the same time, with only a few key flavors going on. I wish I had fresh basil on hand – I can only assume that would kick it up quite a few notches!

I want a few things out of today: I’d love several more servings of this soup to appear in my fridge, for my family not to scare the shit out of The Coach, and the Bucs and the Colts to haul in a win. Sound doable?

What do you want out of today? And, what’s your single favorite traditional fall ingredient?

12 Comments on “Experimentus Interruptus”

  1. I want out of this semi-illness that is creeping up on me :/

  2. Oh my that soup! Unlike you, I love pumpkin, but am not a fan of squash; HOWEVER, this soup may turn me. Looks delicious!

    Peyton Manning is adorable. That is all 🙂

  3. The soup looks great! I bet it would be wonderful with coconut milk!
    I love apples in the fall!

  4. Meg says:

    You are gorgeous girl and representtt! Haha 🙂 I love love love fall veggies, and pumpkin! That soup looks AMAZING!

  5. Krista says:

    GREAT soup! I’ve got some b-nut squash roasting with onion for some soup for dinner.

  6. I want out of the Denver Broncos! They’re playing at Mile High for pete’s sake….if you can’t win at home, then where the heck can you win? 🙂 Favorite fall ingredient is far and away pumpkin! I’m hoping to bake some pumpkin muffins later today in celebration of a Broncos win. I’m so optimistic….lol.

  7. Oh goodness. Excuse the typo in my first sentence above. What I wanted to say is that I want A WIN out of the Broncos. Lol….my mind doesn’t seem to function particularly well on weekends!

  8. Cute jersey!

    What I wanted out of today:
    – a Steelers win. Done.
    – a Dolphins win. Done.
    – inspiration to write a blog. Done
    – finish homework. Ha.. not done.

  9. That looks good! I’ve never tried an acorn squash. I’m a little intimidated of squash because they’re big and I don’t have any big knives (I cut everything with steak knives, seriously).

    Today I wanted to have a kick-ass audition and a great time filming and I would say I did both.

    Fave fall food? APPLES. I am SO looking forward to the return of really good apples – by which I mean solid, crunchy, tart Granny Smiths.

  10. My favourite fall ingredient is cloves.

  11. hands down, spaghetti squash! You’re soup looks amazing!

  12. […] be here tonight for a post on a delish vegan corn chowder and tomorrow morning for a variation on my easy vegan acorn squash soup! Fall may = pumpkin to some of you, but to me it screams soup! I can’t wait to share these […]


Leave a Reply

