The First Mile

I saw Rich walking across the campus towards me and I sprinted to meet him. I had forgotten to throw a sweater over my brown Under Armour t-shirt when I left the dorm, and my still-red skin was tingling in the November night air.

I hopped up onto a stone ledge and crossed my legs Indian style, tapping out a beat onto my knees as he asked me what my big news was. My gym buddy, Rich was my go-to fitness guy and I had texted him before even leaving the gym. I needed to share my excitement with someone, and he was the natural choice. We agreed to meet up between our residence halls.

GUESS WHAT GUESS WHAT GUESS WHAT!!!!?!!!?

What, Faith?

I hit a mile for the first time ever! I’m on such a HUGE runner’s high and I had to had to had to just tell you and oh my gosh I’m dead inside but I could totally go and do it again right now!

Earlier in the evening, I hit the treadmill after work, and after a quarter mile incline walk to warm up, I cranked up the speed for my usual half mile run. I vividly remember seeing .49 tick to .50 without feeling winded, and I said aloud – to nobody in particular – “tonight is going to be the night that I go a full mile.” Sure enough…twelve minutes and thirteen agonizing seconds later, I was red in the face and winded, but prouder than I could ever remember being.

Ecstatic about completing, my time and inability to breathe hardly even registered in my mind. I ran a mile. I was an athlete. I was capable. I was giddy as all get out. I was determined and accomplished the goal that I wanted more than anything at that given moment.

What was your first “milestone” accomplishment in fitness? Email me your story (however long or short it may be) to lovelyascharged@gmail.com along with your name and blog (if you have one), and I’d love to feature it as a future post!

4 Comments on “The First Mile”

  1. Congrats!
    That is such an awesome accomplishment!

  2. Congrats!!!!!!!!!!! My biggest accomplishment fitness-wise was running without stopping for 5 minutes straight. Doesn’t sound like much, but I don’t think I had done that before last year. I didn’t enjoy it much, but I pushed through.

  3. you really deserved that love!! im so happy u got the runners high experience from it too!! its such a wonderful feeling and i can just imagine how excited you felt after this!!! ❤

    xoxo

  4. Lele says:

    Now I have to think of a measurable accomplishment, because I’m not a runner! I think maybe it was just the first time I woke up in the morning and was EXCITED to work out. Like, I wanted to do it because it would make me HAPPY!


Leave a Reply

