2-1

Happy Football Sunday!

My poor boys got their tails handed to them by the Steelers today, and I’ve been in a bit of a sulky mood. Yes, I’m fully aware that my mental and emotional wellbeing should not be affected by football scores…but alas, it is.

Some good eats were a must to redeem the Bucs’ butt whoopin!

Trusty ol’ Google informed me that the Devonshire sandwich was a Pittsburgh original, and I set about assembling a vegetarian version. While still indulgent and rich, I like to think that my version was a much healthier option of the ‘Burgh classic.

Vegetarian Devonshire Sandwich for One (based on the Original Devonshire Sandwich recipe @ post-gazette)

Sandwich:

  • 1 slice whole grain toast (crusts removed)
  • 3 slices cooked Morningstar Farms Vegetarian Bacon (or other bacon substitute)
  • 3 slices Hickory Smoked Tofurkey (or other turkey substitute)
  • 1 serving cream sauce (recipe below)
  • 1 teaspoon grated Parmeasan
  • Salt to taste
  • Paprika (for garnish)

Cream Sauce:

  • 1 tablespoon butter or butter substitute (I used Smart Balance Light)
  • 1/8 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 slices Muenster or Sharp Cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup milk or milk substitute (I used Unsweetened Original Almond Breeze)
  • dash of salt

Directions: Preheat over to 450 degrees. Combine all ingredients over medium-high heat in a saucepan, stirring frequently until cheese is melted. In a ramekin, cover toast with crispy “bacon” and “ham”.

Smother your open-faced sandwich with your cream sauce:

Garnish with a shake of Parmesan and paprika and bake for 10-15 minutes.

Healthy? Not entirely, but a huge improvement on the original version. Not to mention, what’s not to love about a sandwich you can eat with a fork?

Exactly.

11 Comments on “2-1”

  1. I love that fake bacon even though it looks like a dog treat.

  2. Shannon says:

    ah, the g-men didn’t fare so good, either. i don’t hold out high hopes for them this year… i’ve never been Pitt or had this sandwich, but it sure looks interesting! i’m thinking i’d like your version better 🙂

  3. omg omg omg I can’t stop scrolling up and down and looking at that sandwich!!! I MUST make it!

  4. If it makes you feel any better, I’m also in the same sort of football-induced sad mood. Peyton always knows how to destroy my poor Broncos. Sigh…why, Peyton, why? Why must you be so good?

    P.S. That sandwich looks delicious. I’ve never even seen such a thing, but it looks like cream heaven! Yummm!

  5. Excellent post! I really enjoyed reading it. I will be back for more!
    Sincerely,

  6. My Bears play tonight. I’m pretty excited because they’ve been doing well so far!

  7. i have to say im not a huge fan of meat substitutes–what are the substituting with?? but you manage to take some nice photos of it 🙂

  8. WHAT! Why have I never seen this sandwich before!? It looks epic!

  9. greensandjeans says:

    My Packers play tonight! Fake bacon is one of the few meat subs that I really love!

  10. Crazy – I had never seen fake bacon before this!! It does look like a dog treat, but I am sure it tastes good 🙂 The dish looks fabulous!

  11. Krista says:

    A sandwich in a bowl? I’m all over that!!!


Leave a Reply

