Vegan Corn Chowder

Hello all! Hopefully your Wednesdays went well and you’re relaxing into the tail end of the week!

Soups, to me, scream fall. In the summer, it’s too hot to stand over a stove making them, but in winter, it’s too cold to get out from underneath the blankets to enjoy. I’m one of those people who absolutely shuts down in the cold – move? Leave my warm and cozy bed? Don’t wanna, can’t make me.

Regardless, now is my favorite time to dabble in soup making. Hearty autumn veggies boast such rich flavors that work equally well with soulful sweet spices like nutmeg and cinnamon as they do with earthy herbs.

Even though corn is somewhat a summer baby, combined with sweet peppers and bold green onions, a steamy fall favorite comes about in corn chowder. Instead of thick creams and fatty chicken stock, I developed a vegan spinoff which captures the same flavors for a comforting fall meal.

blog 1382

Easy Vegan Corn Chowder

  • 3 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 2 1/4 cups almond milk (or other milk substitute)
  • 2 cups fresh corn kernels
  • 2 green onion stalks
  • 1 medium sweet red pepper
  • 1 medium yellow pepper
  • 3 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon whole wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons smart balance light (or other butter substitute)
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste

blog 1387

 Directions:

  • Finely dice peppers. Over medium heat, melt butter in a saucepan, then add  your onions and peppers, stirring frequently until vegetables are slightly tender.
  • In a large soup pot, bring vegetable broth to a boil and add peppers, flour, and corn kernels. Remove from burner and add in almond milk and herbs. Return to low heat and allow to simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • *Note – soup thickens considerably overnight in the refrigerator, giving a more velvety consistency on day two. blog 1384

I served up a bowl for dinner tonight along with a toasty slice of whole grain bread. Not too light nor too heavy – just the way dinner should be! Now I’m looking forward to a vino and Criminal Minds catch-up date/scare session with my university roomie this evening, but first, a workout is in order!

My mileage and speed have been pretty static lately after taking a “lack of inspiration” hiatus from running – since getting back into the swing of things, I’ve been pretty consistent in completing my 2.8 mile path in approximately 30 minutes. For a girl who cranked out 5 miles in 38 minutes in Washington D.C. this summer (granted, it was a treadmill, but still!), I’m definitely not satisfied with my current performance level.As motivation, I’m planning to enter my first 5k before the end of 2010. Setting that goal gives me a good reason to kick up my efforts and run strong every evening! Even moreso, announcing it on my blog gives me even more reason to actually do it!

I’m feeling like tonight will be a good run and I intend to take the extended loop for a full 3.1 miles. You can expect one of two posts in the morning: an ecstatic success story or a detailed description of the inside of an ambulance 😉

Runners, please, share the wealth…What was the most helpful bit of advice anyone ever gave you while training for your first race? What was your completion time for the first event you ever entered – 5k or otherwise?

6 Comments on “Vegan Corn Chowder”

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    That looks so yummy! I love corn chowder, but have never ate it since I went off dairy. The hope is back! 🙂

  2. Oh that looks good. I’ve made vegan corn chowder before and it’s always been great. You’ve inspired me to make some soon.

  3. Molly says:

    Most helpful advice: Form, Form, form! Do not cross your arms over the body because it is wasted energy. Put those thumbs on top of your fist and point them where to want to go.
    My first race EVER would be in 6th grade when I ran a mile race for intramural cross country. I’m guessing it was between 6:30-7 minutes. Such a long time ago!

  4. Ooh, I love the sound of that soup! Sounds super easy to make too.

    Signing up for my first 5K was such a huge motivating factor in my progress with running. I went into it not wanting to set a goal and just to see what racing was like and I finished in under 30 minutes. I also did probably half of my training on a treadmill, so if you rocked out 5 miles in 38 minutes, you’ll kill a 5K 🙂

  5. The thing I always have to tell myself when I am training is that I need to allow for moods. If I don’t feel like running, don’t push it on myself. It just makes me dislike running!

  6. I did a 5k that I was not trained for (I had not run for 2 months prior to race day). I sprinted, walked, sprinted, walked, etc., and it took me 35 minutes. The best advice anyone gave me about running is to run for as long as you feel like running, and don’t feel like you have to stick to a specific plan or you may start to dislike running.


Leave a Reply

