Identity Crisis

Good evening! I hope you’re having a great start to a week, as well as to your October!

Now that it’s been officially fall for a bit, I’m glad to see that the trees are finally starting to catch up to the season!

blog 1366

blog 1365

Even though the trees are looking like fall, the weather is still summer all the way…

blog 1364

Dear Florida: It’s fall. Chill your spazzy ass down. I have lots of football games I plan to attend and lots of runs I’m going to complete, and your cooperation with operation Don’t Die of Heat Stroke would be much appreciated. The cashmere sweaters waiting patiently in my closet would also like to see the light of day sometime in the near future. Grazi.

As Florida decides whether it’s July or October, there’s another little identity crisis occurring in my kitchen.

blog 1362 blog 1363

It looks and smells like jerky, it has the texture and rich, smoky flavor of an incredibly tender cut of meat…yet, it’s vegan! I feel it should be a crappy gas station item, but at only 99 calories and entirely respectable ingredients, it’s very possibly my new favorite snack! These delicious strips are far healthier than they have any right to be! I snagged quite a few of them for $1.50 each at Chamberlin’s Natural Foods Store, thanks to a co-worker’s recommendation!

Are you excited for the cooler weather of fall or are you clinging desperately to the last shreds of summer?

5 Comments on “Identity Crisis”

  1. Jerky soy?? I’ve never heard of that! Don’t know if I’ll try it, but at the very least I will look it up to see what’s in it. 🙂

    Although it’s still hot here in S. FL, the mornings are definitely starting to cool down. Perfect running weather!

  2. Last week, we had 105 degree weather here in Northern California – so I hear ya about the fall thing. Luckily, we are back in the 60’s/70’s. Your letter is a lot nicer than what I would have written to CA though 🙂

  3. Krista says:

    It is colder here already and I do not like it one bit! I’ll trade ya weather, K 😉

  4. I love fall weather, but not too-cold weather which is unfortunate considering my location. What’s even more unfortunate is that it was summery and 80 degrees last week and suddenly it’s in the 30s every morning. WHERE DID MY FALL GO?!?!?!

  5. I am clinging on to summer because our falls and winters get FREEZING cold, and I hate it.


Leave a Reply

