How to Eat like a Child

I may be a grown-up…but that doesn’t mean I always eat grown-up foods.

I flat out refuse to touch brussel sprouts or lima beans. In a box, with a fox, whatevah, they’re still yucky.

blog 1334

This may look like a responsible, adult breakfast of cereal and dried fruit…

blog 1346

Clever disguise, no?

Sometimes a girl just needs a break from granola.

blog 1347

When I say “eat like a child”, this isn’t quite what I have in mind…

blog 121

(Is there any wonder this child’s nickname was Piggy?)

After watching the kidlets’ habits at lunch and snacktime, though, I really do think they might be onto something.

  • They eat what they want, when they want it. Even if it means climbing over a daggone desk to get their hands on it.
  • They don’t eat when they’re not hungry. Have you ever tried to get a kid to finish a plate of food when they have their minds set against it? You’re going to end up wearing more than ends up in their mouth. Guaranteed.
  • They eat slowly. Painstakingly slowly; I’m talking one *!?#$*ing cheerio at a time. Especially when you’re trying to get them somewhere in a hurry.
  • They eat what’s in front of them before they’re allowed to get dessert or a second helping.

Perhaps if we ate like children – sans bibs, of course – we’d have an advantage on the intuitive and mindful eating front?

On a similar note, I’ve got big plans to go act approximately a third of my age tonight at Disney – I’m heading straight off after work to Epcot for a few hours! I’ve only been once several years ago – is there anything I absolutely have to go see? I’ve gotta prioritize!


8 Comments on “How to Eat like a Child”

  1. Sarah says:

    Kids really do now how to eat, don’t they? They haven’t learned man-made eating rules…now you have me thinking how I can encourage my (future!) kids to stick to eating like kids as they grow up.

  2. Ahhh, Disney!
    I love it and miss it!
    Have a great time and ride Indiana Jones 5 times for me 🙂

  3. First off: you get to go to Epcot after work? Jealous! Have fun!

    I think you are really onto something here. Yes, kids may demand sugar and will throw a hissy fit if they don’t get it (actually, they are similar to me now that I think about), but they do have habits that are worth paying attention to. Especially the fact that they will not eat once they are full…when in childhood does that go away? Great post!

  4. Faith says:

    I agree, kids are fantastic intuitive eaters, especially when it comes to knowing when to stop. No matter how much my niece loves something she won’t touch it once she’s full.

    Hope you have a wonderful time at Epcot!

  5. i love the idea of eating like children! great post!

  6. Krista says:

    I wish I could eat like my son. He really can’t be bothered most times and only eats what he absolutely has to in order to leave the table. I, on the other hand, feel like I need to eat every last morsel on my plate….full or not! *sigh*

  7. Cute post!! We all need to take a few lessons from kids – they have the most fun 🙂

  8. i love eating like a kid. great lessons.


Leave a comment