Sweet, Sweet Success.

blog 1575

Yeast is scary, I’ve been telling myself. It’s aliiiiivvve!

Bread is hard to make and should be left to the pros.

Nonsense. Naan-sense, rather!

blog 1576

Jenna over at Eat, Live, Run posted a recipe for a roasted garlic naan bread and I was lured in by the four ingredients and the seemingly easy, Faith-proof directions. Lured, I tell ya…like a kid to a stranger with candy carbs.

And with that, I set about to lose my bread-baking virginity.

blog 1555

I stuck closely to Jenna’s recipe, although I did make a few slight alterations.

My variation turned into a Whole Wheat Oregano Rustic Flatbread.

  • 1.5 cups warm water
  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups white all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1.5 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • .5 teaspoon turbinado sugar

I followed her directions to a tee, mixing the oregano into the dough at the same time as the salt.

You guys.

Yeast isn’t scary at all! Mine didn’t foam up and bubble like Jenna had mentioned it would, but it still rose absolutely perfectly!

I was also worried that subbing in a percentage of whole wheat flour would weight down the dough…but the end result was one of the softest, most chewy breads I’ve tasted!

blog 1559

Hello, lovers.

blog 1563 

How easy you were!

blog 1564

You know how new mothers (supposedly) look at their children, incredulous that they formed such sweet, wonderful little things with their own bodies?

blog 1565

That’s how I felt about this bread. I’m not sure whether that makes me more worried about my maternal instincts or my culinary ego.

But seriously. Can we just revel in the deliciousness here?

blog 1577

Dare I call it perfect?

blog 1572

What was your proudest baking or cooking accomplishment to date?

17 Comments on “Sweet, Sweet Success.”

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Oh my gosh it looks so good! It reminds me of my local farmer’s market-there is an old lady who sits and makes fresh naan the real authentic way. It has such a good, crispy bottom because she uses that special brick-cooking thing…yummy….

    My favorite cooking accomplishment lately is a grain-free pumpkin bread (ha! totally the opposite of what your talking about right now!) But it is sooo good! I’m posting the recipe sometime this week.

  2. NySoonerGirl says:

    “I’m not sure whether that makes me more worried about my maternal instincts or my culinary ego.” Haha! Thanks for the giggle this morning! 🙂

  3. You should be SO proud!!! I am very impressed!!!!

    I have been proud that any soufflés I have attempted have turned out, and not fallen.

  4. Haha, I was eying Jenna’s recipe yesterday too 🙂

  5. This morning when I made vegetarian lasagna! It always seemed a daunting task but it turned out perfect!

  6. Congrats! Anytime something involves making dough – its’ quite an accomplishment, one that I haven’t had the guts to try yet!

    I’m most proud of some of the stews and soups I pull together.

  7. Krista says:

    Great Naan! I’m very scared of yeast….

  8. I saw this recipe too and I tagged it so I could make it soon! Glad to know it turned out good!

  9. Faith says:

    Your homemade naan is so impressive! I’m bookmarking this and definitely making it soon!

  10. that is some sweet success! looks delish!

  11. Sarah says:

    Yum! Homemade naan? That sounds (and looks) so impressive:).

  12. I’m impressed!

    I’m probably most proud of making apple pie from scratch and vegan cheesecake.

  13. looks awesome! mine is probably the foccacia I made recently!
    Did that taste like restaurant naan?! I really want to make it!

  14. I never knew Naan was so easy to make..thanks for sharing!

  15. Oh, I want to make garlic naan bread too!

  16. Brittany says:

    That bread looks so good. I wish I wasn’t so scared of making bread myself. I can’t even make banana bread turn out right!


Leave a Reply

