Lazy Southern Stew

Happy Thursday afternoon, friends!

I’m racing the clock here – in ten minutes, I need to be on my way back to work for our Boss Day salad potluck. I’m ready to get my eat on!

blog 1593

I spent last night whipping up a double batch of my whole wheat herb flatbread for the boss – it seemed like a better present than a lotion set 🙂

blog 1596 

Or maybe I just like playing with the dough 😉

blog 1592 

With the bread underway and a week’s worth of classwork to catch up on, I wasn’t in the mood for a time-intensive dinner. In fact, when it came to making supper, I got a big case of the lazies.

I was in the mood for something warm and hearty, and five cans & five minutes later, I was in business!

Lazy Southern Stew

  • 2 cans organic stewed tomatoes
  • 1 can no salt added turnip greens
  • 1 can organic pinto beans
  • 1/2 can no salt added sweet corn
  • 1 tablespoon garlic salt

blog 1582

Directions: Open cans (with an electric can opener for maximum laziness). Combine everything in one large pot and heat on the stovetop until warm. Consume and spend the rest of your evening doing productive (or not so productive) things that don’t involve cooking. Like classwork. Or online shopping. Which obviously was not what I did. At all. The J.Crew website just opened itself, I swear.

blog 1589 

blog 1590

 What’s your favorite lazy dinner invention?

5 Comments on “Lazy Southern Stew”

  1. Sarah says:

    My lazy dinner is eggs- with whatever I feel like throwing in there.

  2. Lazy dinner is never an invention for me 🙂 It is frozen pizza, canned soup, or pita pizzas!

  3. Yum Yucky says:

    I’ve never seen a lazy moment be so dang healthy. I want this lazy dish. And I can totally appreciate how you activated the electric can opener ninja move. sa-weeet!

    My lazy dinner is take out pizza. #FAIL

  4. Krista says:

    I’ve never heard of canned turnip greens! I love dumping cans of veg and beans into a pot and calling it dinner. Not much could be easier.

  5. Gotta love playing with the dough 😀
    By the way – the stew looked amazing!


Leave a Reply

