Smorgasbord

Good afternoon!

Want to know something funny? Bosses don’t like calling their employees an hour after they’re supposed to arrive and finding out that they are still in bed because their alarms never told them to wake up. Lo ciento!

In my defense, I was up late working on my new header. If you’re in reader, click through and let me know what you think!

After a rough start to the day, I was more than ready for a good lunch. The only problem was that I had no idea what I wanted!

When in doubt, have a little of everything!

blog 1371

Part-skim mozzerella, Nature’s Pride whole wheat toast, sugar free all natural apple sauce, baby carrots, and almonds.

blog 1372

Down the hatch!

Cheese, please!

I know that in the past, I’ve talked about keeping a vegan kitchen. I chose to cook without animal products but allowed myself to enjoy the occasional ice cream or slice of pizza at a restaurant. My claim has been that I feel better without loading down my system with animal products, which I still stand by.

The other day, however, all I wanted was some smooth, gooey fresh mozzarella to melt onto my flatbread. A quick stop at Publix and voila – one of the most delicious things I’d eaten.

I then began to ask myself why I was depriving myself of dairy. I can honestly that I don’t enjoy meat, yet ice cream and cheese were foods I genuinely liked. While I fully support ethical eating, my decision to eat primarily vegan was not one driven by an animal rights standpoint. Instead, I realized that it was coming from a restrictionist mindset. After finally letting go of my deprivational habits from my eating disorder, denying myself of a group of foods became a condoned way to keep some control over my food intake. I was not eating vegan foods in the name of health, just in the name of taking on another label more acceptable than “anorexic”.

I’m not trying to say that those who eat a vegan diet are doing so in a disordered eating fashion. There are many who have a genuine conviction for animal rights and choose to eat as such. In my own personal case, though, that was not where I was coming from. I have a great deal of respect for those who have committed to a vegan diet and lifestyle, but my reasons for doing so are not ones that I can fully stand behind.

I’m still planning to create a number of vegan recipes. My diet isn’t going to change drastically, nor will the content of the blog. I feel my best fueling myself with clean and plant-based meals, but I don’t see the need to deprive myself of ethically sourced foods that I genuinely enjoy. And with that, I have a cheese cube to finish 🙂

How do you feel about food labels? Where do you personally fall on the spectrum? Have you ever made the choice to break out from a specific dietary label, and what prompted you to do so?

6 Comments on “Smorgasbord”

  1. Love the header! Very chic!

    I personally hate food labels, but this is coming from someone who will pretty much eat anything. Sometimes I eat vegan meals, sometimes vegetarian ones, and sometimes I’m a meat and potatoes girl – I eat what I like!

    I’m with you on the dairy though. Because of some intolerance issues, I try to limit my dairy intake, but I give into the cravings once or twice week – mainly just cheese. Also, I believe that you can get many cheeses now that are from free-range, non-hormonal injected cows, so if you have moral reasons not to eat it, this is an option.

  2. Labels are so hard. Especially ones that imply strictness! When questioned by my eating habits it’s hard to say, “I eat a primarily vegan diet for ethical, health, and poltical reasons. But I
    m not 100% vegan. Dairy doesn’t really agree with me but I eat fish on occasion, am trying to eat more eggs, and might eventually get meat back into my diet. And sometimes I treat myself to ice cream or cheese, but mainly when I cook at home it’s vegan.” Yeah, I just dont feel like rambling on to EVERYONE. so good for you. We all just have to do what is best ofr our bodies and ourselves and that most definitely means NO LABELS!

  3. Krista says:

    My hubby calls me a flexitarian b/c I hardly ever eat meat, but it’s not something that I do conciously….I just don’t like meat that much! I personally don’t label myself at all. I know myself and as soon as I apply a certain label, the food group that I’ve “eliminated” will become all that I want to eat. Does that even make sense? Speaking for myself, I don’t read blogs b/c people eat a certain diet, I read b/c I’m interested in what’s happening in people’s lives. So eat as much cheese as you want, hun!

  4. I often don’t subscribe to labels but I embrace the “vegan” label because I agree with it ethically. I didn’t originally get into veganism for animal reasons (I started for health) but now it’s extremely important to me and I am vegan with no exceptions because I don’t like to compromise my morals.

  5. I refuse to give my diet a label … I eat what I want, when I want, and I don’t ever feel like I have to defend or explain it. No one else should have to either, so don’t ever feel bad about anything you choose to eat or not eat.

  6. Sarah says:

    I started calling myself a vegetarian simply because it is MUCH easier than saying, “well, I’m willing to eat meat, but only from particular sources.” Most people around here just don’t understand that. I have asked myself many times since if I want to eat meat (because there is NO food I am going to deprive myself of), and the honest answer has been “no” up until now. We shall see if that changes! (And if it does, I’ll be more than happy to sit down with a piece of local grass-fed beef or chicken.)


Leave a Reply

