One More Thing.

Good afternoon! It was awesome to read some of the things that you all believe in the comments section of my last post. I always look forward to hearing from y’all while I enjoy lunch!

blog 896

In today’s case, that was a super simple bowl of Mexican Savory Oats.

blog 895

Extra hot salsa made the three-ingredient bowl extraordinary! The spicier, the better!

I believe…

That the will to succeed is stronger than any other will.

I’m going to be honest here. I’m not happy in my current job. Being surrounded all day by screaming toddlers puts me in a cranky and stressed mindset, and I feel like I’m wasting my degree. When you graduate Magna Cum Laude and your most stimulating decision of the day is Huggies or Pampers, you know you’re not exactly living up to your potential. To put it simply, it’s a really crappy feeling.

However…

I have a job. It pays the bills and gets me just enough to make ends meet. My other option is to move back home – something I’ve said since first entering college that I would never do. When I complain to my mother about my job, she reminds me that I can always quit and move back home. That simple reminder never fails to put my choice in perspective.

My family and friends say I refuse to leave my job and go home because I’m proud and headstrong. I’ll willingly agree.

I’ve always been fiercely independent and proud of my innate drive to do whatever I have to do. I promised myself I would support myself after graduation, and I’m willing myself to succeed. Am I happy? Not really. Are there days that all I want to do is quit? Abso-freakin-lutely. However, my desire to prove to myself that I can do what I set out to do is enough to keep me going.

I know for a fact that at some point in my future, I’ll look back at this experience with a ridiculous amount of pride for sticking to my guns and doing what I have to do to make ends meet. I know that in the end, it’s a strengthening experience.

Do you agree or disagree that the will to succeed is the strongest drive? Are you stubborn, and do you find it to be a good or a bad thing?

10 Comments on “One More Thing.”

  1. Sarah says:

    Hm. I think I am still trying to define what it means to be successful.
    I’m not really happy with my job, either, and am comtemplating a change. However, we DO need the money and the insurance right now, so I’m sticking it out for now.
    I like the light you painted a less-than-desirable situation in.
    You got me thinking- there IS a bright side, isn’t there?

  2. I looove savory oats like no one’s business!

  3. I feel for you because I’ve been in your shoes! My second job out of college was a nanny. I hated every.single.day of it. I cried every night when I came home exhausted and feeling worthless. I fought with every ounce to stick it out and see if it would get better. It didn’t. The only thing made me hang on was the fact that I’d feel like a failure if I quit. But a failure at what? Failure at not being a good nanny? Failure at not being able to smile every moment of the day to make a toddler swoon? Anyways, once I realized that the job was making me miserable and was effecting my outlook on life, did I quit. Sometimes success is knowing when to make the next move, when to take a chance and do something that scares you. Success to me is having the courage to work towards your goals, even if they don’t always pan out.
    Sorry this is so long, but I just feel like I can relate so well! Good luck!

  4. I had a very similar experience with my last AmeriCorps job. It was really really really tough somedays when I felt as though all of my education and training wasn’t really being utilized the way I had hoped it would be. However, by sticking with the job and finishing up my year of service, I discovered the extent of my own patience, determination, and willpower. It took a lot out of me to deal with my service year, but I feel like dealing with the tough times made me a better person…if that makes sense. Whatever crap you have to deal with now will make you a stronger person! But I also promise something better will soon come around the corner, and you’ll ultimately find a job that you’re in love with! In the meantime, I wish you the best of luck. You can do this!

  5. i think you have to stick it out a while. this goes against my “follow you dreams” mentality. but as a recent graduate myself, we have jobs! in an awful economy! i say, look for something else, try to gain experience doing something else, try volunteering or searching for another way to enrich your life and maybe lead to another job opportunity, but i dont think going home is an option–unless you have a job/future there! I dont know many people who LOVE their 1st job out of school… i say: be headstrong and stubborn!

  6. Krista says:

    Oh, I am stubborn alright. Sometimes to a fault. But I’m just not the type of person to back down from something I believe in. Sorry to hear that you’re job isn’t so great, but look at it as a stepping stone to something much more rewarding in your future. You’re still young, childless and free to explore options while you decided on those diapers. 😉

  7. I am SO stubborn – always have been! I think it is a GREAT thing, and I wouldn’t have gotten to where I am today without my stubborn streak.

  8. kbwood says:

    oh girl you got me wanting some savory oats!!

  9. […] to adjust to the younger kids. I told myself I needed to get more involved with lesson plans. I told myself I was doing what I needed to do to maintain my independence. Basically, I told myself whatever I had to in order to get through the […]

  10. […] told me to learn from those who’d been where I’ve been. I’ve always prided myself on being strong-willed, yet sometimes, no amount of fierce independence can substitute for […]


Leave a Reply

