Pressure and Pudding

Hello, hello! I hope you’ve all been having wonderful weekends and a great Football Sunday.

Mine nearly resulted in a heart attack, but alas, we pulled it together to win by one lousy point in the final ten seconds! Our quarterback putzes through the first three quarters but then pulls it together at the very end when the entire game is on the line.

He obviously thrives under pressure…as do I! This morning was the first thought I’d given to my Eating Through the NFL project, and luckily I also pulled something respectable together with a dwindling play clock!

blog 1443

In honor of our opponent – the St. Louis Rams – I decided to whip up a whole wheat and almond variation of Ozark Pudding, a traditional Missourian dessert.

blog 1408

Whole Wheat Almond Ozark Pudding (adapted from About.com)

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped almonds
  • 2/3 cup chopped apples (approx 1/2 large apple) + slices for garnish
  • 1/2 cream, milk, or milk substitute

Directions:

Combine flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in small bowl.

In mixing bowl, combine egg and brown sugar until evenly mixed.

blog 1431

Add in combined dry ingredients, nuts, apples, and vanilla.

blog 1417

Pour into greased 8 by 8 baking dish and bake for 35 minutes at 350*.

blog 1422

Your house will smell incredible! (Or at least better than the locker room at halftime…)

blog 1437

Break apart with a spoon and serve drizzled with a few tablespoons of cream or milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk, as per usual).

blog 1450

Since I made this a 100% whole wheat version, it was predictably dense. The almond milk made all the difference in the world making this a warm, sweet, soft dessert. It reminded me of a bread pudding, except with apples instead of raisins (and thus FAR better)!

How did your teams do this weekend?

Do you operate well under pressure?

5 Comments on “Pressure and Pudding”

  1. I’m glad your team pulled out a win. My team was…how to say this lightly?…an embarrassment. A 59-14 loss to the Raiders=sad times in Broncos Land. Honestly, how does one even let the Raiders score 59 points on them? I wasn’t sure that was even possible. Sigh…

  2. I do well under pressure, but I don’t enjoy the feeling of being under pressure.

  3. my husband spent his childhood in kansas, so he has to root for the chiefs. this is the first year they’ve done any winning in a while. makes for a very happy husband.
    (but sooners lost on saturday, which was sad..)

  4. Krista says:

    I’ve never heard of Ozark pudding! It sounds fabulous…

  5. I have never heard of this dessert before, but it sounds right up my alley!

    I’m a Baltimore Ravens fan, and they just BARELY beat Buffalo, even though they should have killed them. I guess a win is a win though, right?


Leave a Reply

