Cornbread Crepes for the Dirty Birds

Southern Belle, I am not.

I may have spent seven years in Mississippi as a little girl, but the prim, reserved Scarlett O’Hara-esque grace never took root. My only evident throwback to my inner southerner is my penchant for the word “y’all”.

However, in today’s installment of eating my way through the NFL, the Buccaneers are facing off against the Atlanta Falcons, implying nothing other than soul food .

Since most of the traditional dishes derive their flavor from heavy cream, bacon, or ham, creating a southern dish that was healthy, wholesome, and vegetarian was a big challenge – especially for a gal who’d rather have oatmeal than grits and coffee than sweet tea. My mind wandered across various dishes, none of which struck my fancy…until, as per usual, my beloved carbs came to the rescue, inspiring a meal that was slightly more shallow south than deep south, yet delicious and Atlanta-esque regardless. The sheer simplicity was just an added bonus!

blog 1532

Cornbread Crepes with a Colby Jack & Veggie Filling

Inspired by myrecipes.com

Vegetarian, serves two.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup corn meal
  • 1/3 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup soy milk
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup shredded colby jack cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped sweet vidalia onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped white mushrooms
  • 1/3 cup chopped yellow pepper

Directions:

  • Combine first six ingredients in a large bowl and chill for an hour.
  • Pour batter into small greased skillet in small amounts until the bottom is just barely covered. Cook over medium-high heat for 60 seconds or until the batter has solidified (this happens quite quickly!) Run a spatula around the edges of the crepe to separate from pan, then flip and cook for another 60 seconds. Remove crepe and repeat. Once all batter has been used, stack on plate and allow to cool.
  • While crepes cool, sautee onion, mushrooms, and peppers. Add cheese and stir until melted.
  • Spoon filling over half of a crepe, fold in half, and serve.

blog 1543

Dahling, these were marvelous, simply mahvahlous!

blog 1553 blog 1552

I was terrified that they’d tear when I flipped them, yet these were hearty and held together quite nicely!

And now, any remaining shred of ladylike intentions are about to fly out the window as I tune in to the second half of the game against the Falcons, and frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!

Have a wonderful Football Sunday!

13 Comments on “Cornbread Crepes for the Dirty Birds”

  1. Brilliant!
    I love cornbread so they have to be a win!

  2. I love making crepes! I just got a crepe pan in the mail, so I will have to try this recipe. I made corn bread once, but it was really grainy … can you buy really fine corn meal, or is it all grainy?

  3. Shannon says:

    ooh, a great way to enjoy sunday football! go giants 😉

  4. Yum! Those look amazing. P.S. I love your NFL-inspired meals so much. It’s a great way to amp up the creativity in the kitchen….:)

  5. Ha! I love what your roommate says after a run! Cornbread crepes??? Holy cow you are good, will you please come cook for me!?!

  6. Heyy, I’m so glad you stopped by my blog because it brought me here and I quite like yours! I’m bookmarking it right away.
    Congratz on those crepes, they came out picture perfect!
    I’m gonna keep browsing your blog now 🙂 Byebye
    Have a great week,
    Nicky

  7. kbwood says:

    oh my !!! this is genius girl!!! they look AWESOME!

  8. Wow, these look awesome. I can’t do the flour because of the gluten but I can figure out something to sub, what a creative idea and pretty good flipping skills. (skills that I don’t have!)

  9. Looks like you flipped them well. I have a terrible time flipping things in the pan. They always tear up or turn over on themselves. Nice blog, btw. This was my first visit.

  10. Cornbread anything is a good choice, in my opinion. The crepes look so thin that I would also be worried about them tearing. Very nice!

  11. well doesnt that sounds and look delicious! hope you enjoyed sunday night football (and maybe tonight too?.. ) !

  12. Krista says:

    Great crepes! I love them and need to start making them more often….


Leave a Reply

