Peanut Butter Banana White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Stop. Banana time.

Yesterday afternoon I found myself in every foodie’s favorite position: being in possession of a single over-ripe banana, a few hours of free time, and the baking bug. Is that or is that not the perfect scenario for kitchen magic?

blog 1560

Oh yes indeedy. Can’t touch this.

Actually, as a matter of fact, please do touch this. I have a dozen of these and the overwhelming urge to consume…erm…all of them…in one sitting. Self control, self control, self control…ah hell, shove ‘em off on the roomie.

blog 1559

Peanut Butter Banana White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies (aka everything but the kitchen sink blobs of deliciousness)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup wheat bran
  • 1/4 cup natural white chocolate chunks
  • 1/2 egg
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 tbsp Smart Balance (or other butter/butter substitute)
  • 2 tsp creamy, no-sugar-added peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt

blog 1549

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, combine flour, wheat bran, baking soda, and salt.
  • In a large separate bowl, blend sugar, butter, vanilla, banana, and egg (to most easily halve the egg, crack it into a small dish and use a tablespoon to break and scoop out half of the yolk as well as half of the whites).
  • Add contents of first bowl to the wet ingredients and stir until smooth. Add in oats and white chocolate pieces. Combine until evenly distributed.
  • Form balls and drop onto a greased cookie sheet.  CRUCIAL STEP: Reserve generous amount for bowl-licking 🙂 Bake for 16-18 minutes at 350* F (or until golden brown allover), remove from baking sheet to cool.

blog 1562

No flimsy or crunchety Famous Amos here – I’m all about the dense, hearty, stick-to-your-ribs cookies.

blog 1564

With wholesome ingredients like wheat bran, peanut butter, and whole wheat flour, these are a cookie I’m incredibly excited to pair with a cup of fresh ground coffee for a cold-weather pick-me-up!

Have you created – or come across – any interesting cookie recipes lately? Please, share!

10 Comments on “Peanut Butter Banana White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. Those look epically soft and delicious! *Swoon!*

  2. Do do do do, do do, can’t touch this! Those look amazing and now you have me singing MC Hammer!

  3. Kat says:

    I basically live for overripe bananas. I freeze them like crazy so that I can action a banana bread or whatnot whenever the mood strikes. Unfortunately, no good cookie recipes as of late but the ones that you made look unreal, lady!

  4. Mimi says:

    Oh nice! If I don’t have any wheat bran, what would you recommend subbing? These look so delicious but I’m trying not to buy any new ingredients before I leave for London.

    • Faith says:

      Hi! I have a feeling wheat germ would also work, or even just another 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour. I liked the extra fiber/lower calorie count of the wheat bran, but I’m sure either of the others would work just fine!

  5. I so agree, I like dense, chewy cookies. I guess that’s one reason I’ve never really understood cupcake love. I don’t want something light and fluffy!

    The peanut butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookies I made a couple weeks ago were amazing and that blog post is by far my most-read ever.

  6. Krista says:

    Yummy cookies! I don’t know that I would even get them baked! They look perfect raw! LOL

  7. Totally digging these cookies — love all the flavors. I just made pecan pie cookies, but other than, pretty standard.

  8. I have never created a cookie recipe – I don’t know how to do it properly so that they will be cooked, and the right consistency etc.. I need to know more about food science!


Leave a Reply

