Make Mine a Double!

Hello and good morning!

I’m here to tell you, first and foremost, that last night’s pizza was incredible! So incredible, in fact, that it deserves its own post. You’ll hear all about it tonight after I scarf up the leftover slices 🙂

Unfortunately I used up all my spinach on the pizza, so the Green Monster I had planned on for breakfast was a little less green and a little more vanilla bean

blog 1554

It was – quite disturbingly – my first smoothie in all of November, and quite possibly even longer than that!

For the win:

  • 2 bananas
  • 2 handfuls of ice
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1 tsp ground flax
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground coffee
  • 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract

Yup, I supersized it…I figured I needed to make up for lost ground! 😉

I also popped a cup of grapes as I got dressed and mulled over today’s advice from:

Project Enthusiasm

Commandment 3: If in doubt, check it out; don’t make negative assumptions about each other.

Intentions are one of the hardest things to judge. It’s nearly impossible to say why people act the way they do and harder yet to look beyond an action that we perceive as intentionally hurtful. I can distinctly remember multiple occasions when I’ve felt personally attacked by a coworker and brooded over the offending action for days; my attitudes towards the individual in question became brisk and unfriendly. In retrospect, I realize that what I took as a deliberate act of irritation was at worst inconsiderate, yet not intended to hurt me or hinder my work.

Operating in a perpetually defensive mode can put absolutely anyone on edge. It’s a huge waste of black hole for time, energy, and effort. Is it honestly any less work than asking a few simple questions to clear the air – or even better – striving to always look on the positive side and find the best in others?

Have you ever been in a situation where you either made an incorrect assumption or were on the receiving end of untrue allegations? What did you learn from the experience?

7 Comments on “Make Mine a Double!”

  1. Sarah says:

    Yes! Some of the best advice I received during premarital counseling is to always assume the best of my husband. I can’t say I have this one down, but I do find when I remember to assume the best of people, I do a whole lot better.

  2. Camille says:

    Oh my gosh, that a perfect smoothie!
    It’s almost like a milkshake! I will definitely be trying this one…

  3. Have you had Sbux’s Vanilla Bean Frapuccino Light? It’s soooo good!

  4. I work in a highly stressful environment and every one of us gets snappy at times. At first, I took it all to heart – I assumed they didn’t like me. But, now I try to counteract those thoughts with, “I know how they feel, I’ve had days like these”.
    Really, I find the only person I can truly read is my Mom. I think we have some kind of sixth sense about each other 🙂

  5. Yum Yucky says:

    Whoa, wait! Ground coffee in that thang? Wait till I tell my coffee-freak husband. good idea

  6. I make incorrect assumptions about people all the time, always trusting a little more than I should.

  7. Krista says:

    I was pretty bad in my 20’s for taking things too personally. Once I had kids and grew up a bit I realized that I was over reacting most times. Now I let things slide A LOT easier than I use to. Especially if I know that I’ve done nothing to promote crap behaviour. Life is too short to worry about what we *might* have done to annoy someone, right?


Leave a Reply

