Savory Sweet Potato Buckwheat Patties

Hallo foodies and football fiends!

What I’d like to do: Crab about today’s game being blacked out.

What I’m going to do: Listen to the game on the radio and drown my misery in savory sweet potato buckwheat patties.

blog 1636

Since North Carolina (home of the Panthers) is the number one producer of sweet potatoes in the United States, it seemed only natural to whip up a lunch with the vitamin-C laden beauties for today’s post on eating my way through the NFL.

 blog 1659

Savory Sweet Potato Buckwheat Patties

Vegan, Gluten-Free, makes five patties

Ingredients

  • 1 large sweet potato
  • 1 green onion
  • 1/4 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin seeds
  • 1 tablespoon sunflower seeds
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

  • Bake sweet potato; cool and remove skin.
  • Chop onions; combine with all spices, olive oil, and potato in a large bowl.
  • Mash until thoroughly combined.
  • Form patties and press seeds into the top. Sprinkle with additional garlic salt if desired.
  • Drop patties onto a tin-foil lined baking sheet; bake 15-20 minutes at 400* or until patties are browned on the outsides.

blog 1656

Duh-freakin-licious.

blog 1658

Just like a perfectly done cookie, these patties are a bit gooey on the inside but chewy and browned on the outside. The seeds on the top add the perfect bit of crunch!

While most of my football buddies would choose pizza and wings over these as a halftime munchie, I thought these were a fun alternative to traditional game day food…and anything I can dip in honey mustard is good in my book!

How’d your team do?  We swept the Panthers – for a crap team, the Bucs are doing decently this season! This makes me verrrrrrry happy 🙂

7 Comments on “Savory Sweet Potato Buckwheat Patties”

  1. Uh, bookmarked. These look fantastic!!

  2. Camille says:

    Ohhh my gosh, those look incredible!

  3. Caroline says:

    Yummm these look great!! I didn’t no NC has the most sweet potatoes… I think I might have found myself a new favorite state 🙂

  4. Weighting For 50 says:

    OMG, these look fantastic!!!

  5. Wow, these look so interesting and delicious! But I’m automatically a sucker for anything with sweet potatoes 🙂

  6. We watch CFL football (Canadian Football League) and my province’s team was in a play off home game yesterday. We won in double overtime! We have one more play off game, and if we win it we will be playing in the grey cup (our version of the super bowl)


Leave a Reply

