White Chocolate Cranberry Crumb Bars

Yo. I’m single.

That means I can:

A.) Eat thirty of these bars and get fat without anyone to say so much as one word in complaint.

B.) Nix the bars, park my butt at the gym, and get a slammin’ breakup-revenge body a la’ Reese Witherspoon.

blog 1647

Either way, I can’t lose.

blog 1586

Hopefully, after six trials, blood (as well as a dried cranberry smear on my arm that I discovered, assumed was blood, and began screaming), sweat, and tears, these will not forever be associated in my mind with breakups (albeit relatively painless ones.)

blog 1645

White Chocolate Cranberry Crumb Bars

Ingredients (for Crumb Base)

  • 2/3 c soy flour
  • 1/4 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 c  + 1 tsp unbleached white flour
  • 2/3 c brown sugar
  • 1/4 c turbinado sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 egg
  • pinch salt
  • 1/4 c Smart Balance Light (or other butter substitute)
  • 1/8 c Greek yogurt
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • dry oatmeal (optional, for garnish)
  • slivered almonds (optional, for garnish)
  • 1 square natural almond bark (or equal amount of other white chocolate)

Ingredients (for cranberry filling)

  • 2 c fresh cranberries
  • 1/2 c turbinado sugar
  • 4 tbsp apple juice
  • 1/2 tsp corn starch

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350*
  • Over medium heat, warm all cranberry filling ingredients, stirring occasionally until all cranberries have exploded. Remove from burner to cool.
  • In a large bowl, combine all flours (reserving 1 tsp white flour!), sugars, baking powder, and salt.
  • Cut in butter and yogurt; press with fork until loose crumbs have formed.
  • Add egg; stir until evenly distributed.
  • Spread 2/3 of the batter across the bottom of a greased pan. Spread the cooled cranberry mixture across the top of the batter.
  • Add cinnamon and the reserved tablespoon of white flour to the remaining batter. Stir and use fingers to crumble across the top of the cranberry filling.
  • Sprinkle oats and slivered almonds over top of finished product, along with another generous sprinkling of cinnamon if so desired.
  • Bake for 22-25 minutes or until inserted knife comes out clean.
  • Allow to cool for 45 minutes – an hour before cutting and icing.
  • Melt white chocolate and pump into icing bag (or if you’re bust-azz broke like me, a ziploc baggie with the tip snipped!). Drizzle over top of bars.
  • Enjoy and praise God you didn’t spend many hours and evenings in the kitchen trying to develop this @*(*#@(&U%#’ing recipe!

blog 1659

Picky Nicky, don’t forget to send me your address! I’ve got six of these babies ready to send your way as soon as I get the delivery deets!!!

blog 1658

These are certainly the epitome of fall deliciousness…I can’t wait to bring them to my Thanksgiving potluck! Perhaps one of my students will bring a cute, single, young family member to taste test them for me? 😉

blog 1649

Today’s Project Enthusiasm post to come this evening. See you then!!!

18 Comments on “White Chocolate Cranberry Crumb Bars”

  1. Omg, I thought I did send you my address… Now I’m thinking “who did I send it to if I didn’t send it to you…” Oh, boy 😛
    I’m resending it to you right away!

  2. Alth0ugh eating 30 bars seems like a good idea, I can assure you next week you won’t feel as great about the choice. This is coming from a girl who made pumpkin cheesecake bars last weekend and single-handedly ate the entire batch over the course of a few days. Oh, the shame! Maybe I should try out this ‘gym’ option you speak of… hmmm…

  3. Those sound absolutely fantastic!! Love seeing cranberry in lots of recipes lately:)

  4. Camille says:

    Hahaha, you know, I would opt for eating them AND hitting the gym. Best of both worlds 🙂

  5. These are so pretty and look like the epitome of Fall! Way to go!

  6. Sarah says:

    Hmmm…both options sound like a lot of fun. I like your attitude- either way, you win. Cooking is such great therapy.

  7. congrats on becoming a single lady! the bars look great. i’d like one with some hot cocoa after a major snow storm…… of after the gym!

  8. Caroline says:

    Go for it girl! Everyone needs a little comfort food sometimes. And speaking of the food, those look GREAT! I would love to try them with dark chocolate drizzled on top!

  9. Faith says:

    These look amazing…and I’m glad it was cranberry on your arm instead of blood! 🙂 Love the pretty white chocoalte drizzle on top!

  10. I’m single. Gotta say, I wish I’d done more gym-hopping and less cookie-scarfing after that breakup…

  11. Katy says:

    These look delicious and I love ANYTHING with white chocolate. 🙂 I will have to make these some day. 🙂

    I added you to my blog roll by the way. 🙂

  12. sophia says:

    I’ve been craving chocolate and fruit….and then this bar pops up. Obviously, it’s God’s sign. 🙂

  13. Krista says:

    I love the white chocolate drizzle on these bars! 🙂

  14. Weighting For 50 says:

    These look amazing! All the blood, sweat, tears and cranberry stains sure look worth it!!

  15. Jenny says:

    The white chocolate drizzle topping really makes these bars! I love finishing touches like that 🙂 Yum!

  16. Rhea says:

    These are so pretty and professional-looking, they could be in a magazine! White chocolate + cranberry is one of my favorite flave combos. Bravo!

  17. […] Leftover cranberry filling from my white chocolate cranberry crumb bars […]


Leave a Reply

