Salty Chocolate and Project Enthusiasm Part Seven

Hello, hello!

I wound up spending Monday night in ways that were a bit more conducive to Burger King breakfasts than blog-writing…but you know what? Worth it. That’s all I want out of life, honestly…priceless stories, timeless memories, amazing friends, and no regrets.

If a little chocolate works its way in there too, I wouldn’t complain.

blog 1605

Currently in my freezer? Ghirardelli’s Intense Dark Sea Salt Soiree. I LOVE the chocolate and the almonds but I’m not entirely sold on the salt. I understand that it’s supposed to make the flavors more intense, but it seems like a sad game of Which of these does not belong?

Project Enthusiasm

Commandment Seven: Act with initiative and courage as if it all depends on you.

In my line of work, I don’t have strict deadlines, I don’t have sales pitches to make or multi-million dollar mergers to navigate, and I don’t have a corporate ladder to climb. What I do have are lesson plans, Department of Children and Families codes, and lots of wet wipes. Does that make my job any less important than a lawyer’s or the editor of Vogue? Hardly. (Well, the latter maybe….)

When you feel like you’re not working towards anything in particular, there’s no incentive to give your all. I don’t care what your job is, what your title is, or how much you get paid – once you realize that you matter, even the most mundane tasks become worthwhile. I’m not self-centered enough to believe that the world would cease to spin without me, yet I know that everyone has an incredible contribution to make. Sure, not every assignment is going to be world-changing, but when we invest ourselves enough in them, our performance and attitudes will skyrocket. A little shift in mentality can make us approach our to-do list like a champ and take the risks that reap big rewards!

So tell me: What seemingly simple way can you act like a champ today?

10 Comments on “Salty Chocolate and Project Enthusiasm Part Seven”

  1. Camille says:

    I adore sea salt chocolate. It definitely does have conflicting flavors but I love it so 🙂

  2. Paige says:

    That chocolate bar sounds amazing!
    And that’s a great concept o think about when accomplishing things in your day:D

  3. Great post and perspective. I work as an office manager and the majority of my tasks are planning events to make the staff happy. This sometimes irritates me to no end. I feel like there is not purpose for me there and I’m not doing “real work”. I will do my best to change my perspective on this and try to feel like I DO matter.

  4. I love this concept! Lets see…. Ill be a champ by doing every menial task with a sense of purpose. Hippie anyone?

  5. Good post! And I totally needed it! I just got done with a big project and now that the ‘high’ is gone, I feel very ho-hum and blah. Thanks for the pick-me-up 🙂

  6. Ohhh that chocolate looks soo good, I love the salty and chocolate combo, and intense dark is my fave!

  7. Sea salt makes everything better 🙂

  8. Weighting For 50 says:

    What a great post. Thanks for that. Some days in my job, I don’t feel like I matter at all….but you’re right, I, and the role I do DOES matter! My goal is to remember that more often!!

  9. Yeahh salty chocolate? Weird.

    And re: your comment on my blog – it’s too bad you don’t like German food! I love it. It’s just so hearty!

  10. Katy says:

    Great post! 🙂


Leave a Reply

