Are you going to run a marathon or something?

Good morning guys!

blog 1631

I’m triply excited for today – not only am I enjoying an awesome yogurt mess for breakfast, but it’s Friday and my work is celebrating Thanksgiving a bit early with a family and friends potluck.

I’m kicking the awesome day off with a big ol’ yogurt mess:

blog 1630

I love the cranberries in it! I know it undermines the sugar content, but I didn’t want to waste the leftovers from my bars, especially when it makes a plain yogurt into a yummy, fallish fruit-on-the-bottom business! I was up super late baking them last night as part of my contribution to the potluck!blog 1612

My other contribution is a vegan, gluten-free gravy for myself and the other vegetarian teacher at our school.

Easy Vegan, Gluten-Free Gravy with Onion and Rosemary

blog 1628

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups vegetable broth (I used Pacific organic/low sodium)
  • 2 tablespoons buckwheat flour
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 4 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 Vidalia onion
  • 1 tablespoon Smart Balance Light (or other butter substitute)

Directions:

  • In a large saucepan, sauté’ finely minced onion with the Smart Balance light. Add in flour, rosemary, oregano, and salt.
  • In a pot over medium heat, stir together vegetable broth, cornstarch, soy sauce, and nooch.
  • Mix in onion, stirring until combined and thickened in texture.

Almost too easy, no?

You know what isn’t easy? Not for me, at least?

Knocking out a five mile run.

Actually, it wasn’t hard, since I kept my speed very low (I completed in 54:07), but I wasn’t exactly ready to deliver a lecture at the end either 😉 My mum called on the way home and I informed her that I couldn’t talk because I was beelining for my shower after running five miles. Her response?

Faith, are you going to run a marathon or something?

Hells. To. The. Yes.

Yes, ma, I am going to run a marathon! Maybe not for quite some time…but eventually! I’m definitely enthusiastic about the training and making it happen!

Speaking of enthusiasm, I’ll have part eight of Project Enthusiasm up tonight. I was SO exhausted yesterday evening that I crashed before even looking at the phrase or rough drafting the post!

Make it a great one!

7 Comments on “Are you going to run a marathon or something?”

  1. Mmm, I love yogurt messes! By the way, have you gotten the e-mail I sent you with my address?
    Have a great weekend!
    By the way, I’d love to run a marathon too someday! Best of luck 🙂

  2. Katy says:

    What a yummy yogurt mess! I love putting cranberries on top of my yogurt. 🙂

    You go girl! I know that you can run a marathon! 🙂 I’m hoping to run my first next October—-hopefully Chicago! 🙂

    Have a great day! 🙂

  3. Good for you! I think I can safely say that I will never be running a marathon in my lifetime. I run for working out here and there, but I just can’t get into it :-/

  4. Your vegan gravy looks awesome – just like the real deal, but so much healthier!

  5. Weighting For 50 says:

    Yum!!! Happy EARLY Thanksgiving!!!!!!

  6. Anna says:

    I love early Thanksgiving celebrations!! Great job on the run!

  7. Emily says:

    Thanks for having breakfast with us!

    Emily
    Chobani Greek Yogurt


Leave a Reply

