Celery Victor over Amaranth

Hello hello and Happy Football Sunday!

The Game Of My Life is on at 4:15 – Colts vs. Patriots – and The Coach is coming over to keep me from breaking things if the Colts lose. Another homemade pizza may be involved 🙂 Even though we’re remaining good friends, it’s every girl’s instinct to show off a bit for her ex…and I’m quite fond of showing off in the kitchen!

Until then, though, I’m set to enjoy the little San-Francisco inspired dish I whipped up for Eating Through the NFL!

As far as showing off goes, I’m excited to showcase it here on the blog – it’s very possibly my favorite from my NFL series thus far. It’s incredibly tasty with a wonderful nutritional profile!

Celery Victor is a San Francisco classic, with roots at the St. Francis Hotel. The traditional version involves a chilled marinated celery and anchovies over romaine lettuce, but I was in the mood for something more hearty, so I left my vegetarian version warm and served it over a grain!

blog 1626

Celery Victor over Amaranth

Adapted from CDKitchen.com

Vegan, serves one

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 green onion stalk, chopped
  • 1/3 cup vegetable broth (I used Pacific Organic Low Sodium)
  • 1/2 tsp parsley
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp deli mustard
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup dry amaranth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tsp Smart Balance Light (or other vegan butter substitute)
  • 1/8 tsp garlic salt

Directions:

  • Bring water to a boil and add amaranth. Reduce to medium-low heat, cover and cook for 12 minutes.
  • In a small saucepan over medium-high heat, pour vegetable broth over celery, onion, and parsley. Cover and cook for 6-8 minutes or until just barely tender.
  • In a small dish, whisk together red wine vinegar, mustard, olive oil, salt and pepper.
  • Remove celery mixture from heat and toss with the marinade. Allow to settle for 5 minutes.
  • Drain amaranth and stir in butter and garlic salt. Top with Celery Victor and serve.

blog 1617

So. Incredibly. Flavorful.

I always used to think of celery as a bland, boring “diet food” but with this marinade, nothing could be farther from the truth!

blog 1628 blog 1618

I picked up the amaranth from the bulk bins at Whole Foods on a whim on my Friday night adventure, and I only wonder why I took so long to try it! With twice the calcium of milk, three times the fiber of wheat as well as 14 grams of protein 7.6 grams of iron per 1/4 cup, can you say Miracle Grain?

blog 1625

Have you ever tried Amaranth? What’s your favorite dish including it?

And now, after an unexpected hiatus…

Project Enthusiasm

Commandment Eight: Do everything with enthusiasm – it’s contagious!

I remember when I first transferred to my university, one of the girls in my group of friends always stood out to me as such fun to hang out with because she was always excited for whatever plan was on the agenda. Beach? Count her in. Night out? Abso-frickin-lutely. Shopping? Movie? Road trip? Game on.

Beyond that, she was always smiling and had something positive to share in conversation. Every time I ate dinner with her or stopped for a quick chat at the campus cafe, I was immediately in a better mood, just because it seemed that with this girl, there was no room for negativity. Even when she was running on two hours of sleep and had back to back exams on her schedule, she was just such a joy to be around. Everyone else’s mood even seemed to perk up to match hers.

What was her secret? Simple, plain enthusiasm for life.

No, life isn’t always rainbows and butterflies. (It’s compromise that moves us aloooooong….)

Life is going to suck at times. That’s a guarantee. But it’s also going to rock your socks off the rest of the time – if you let it – if you approach it with wide open arms and an excitement to live and learn. That excitement and enthusiasm is going to boost your own mood 100% – approaching your least favorite tasks with a sense of purpose will help them get done quicker and move you a step closer to the amazing, incredible things that everyone deserves to experience!

Before the day is over, find something that you usually dislike doing and tackle it with the most upbeat spirit you can muster!

7 Comments on “Celery Victor over Amaranth”

  1. I ever would have thought to make celery the main star of a dish! It looks great, though. I’ve never had amaranth – I want to try, though!

  2. I had no idea amaranth was so nutritious! I’ll have to give it a try now, especially with all that iron in it 🙂

  3. This dish looks so interesting, and you’ve featured it at just the perfect time for me because I’m trying to use up the last of my celery stash before it goes bad. Hello Celery Victor over Amaranth! 🙂

    P.S. Can’t wait for the Pats-Colts game! Go Colts!

  4. lindsay says:

    I love using amaranath! What a unique and delicious recipe. And you sound exactly like my friend with the whole colts passion. Her husband is a cowboy fan and she is a DIE HARD peyton fan!

  5. Oh I wish I was like your friend. Sometimes it takes every ounce of me just to *not* be blah or negative. Ok that was dramatic..it’s not that bad, but I do envy people like that!

  6. I’ve never had amaranth……got to go buy some soon!! I have friends who are super enthusiastic like that…I tend to stress out. Some days I’m fine, but others…….its sooo hard to be positive! Something I definitely want to work on!

  7. Wow amaranth is a powah house! I’ve never even dreamed of trying it before. Better change that 🙂


Leave a Reply

