Music is Life

I’m currently typing up this post in my classroom (thank God for naptime!), eating cold leftovers I grabbed from my fridge in a drive-by operation speeding back to work.

Lunch

What, my friends, could be more important than filling my belly on lunch break?

I was picking up tickets to Next Big Thing!

blog 1610

Every year the local alternative rock radio station puts on a massive music festival and I’ve literally been dying to go to one since high school! I decided that this year was the year that I was going to make it happen, and I enlisted a few friends to go have our worlds rocked 🙂

Twelve bands in one day? Count me in! The lineup includes Paper Tongues, Neon Trees, Sick Puppies, A Day To Remember, Switchfoot, The Black Keys, My Chemical Romance (yuck! The only one I’m not excited about!), Finger Eleven, American Bang, and Cage the Elephant.

I’m beyond psyched!

I’m all about a power rock playlist for an amped-up workout, so I decided to create and share a lineup of my favorites for y’all!

*Shinedown – The Crow and The Butterfly

*Yellowcard – Fighting, Ocean Avenue, and Keeper

Paper Walls

*American Bang – Wild and Young

*Cavo – Champagne; Crash; Beautiful; Ghost; Waiting for Silence. (I can’t pick just one song to recommend! I’m pretty sure y’all know by now that this is my favorite band!)Bright Nights _ Dark Days

*NeedtoBreathe – Hurricane

*Paper Tongues Trinity

*Thirty Seconds to Mars – The Kill

A Beautiful Lie

*A Day to Remember All I Wanted

*Jimmy Eat World – My Best Theory (I never was a huge fan of this band but I adore their newest single!)

*The Alkaline Trio – The American Scream

This Addiction (Deluxe Edition) [Bonus Track Version]

*The Crash Kings – Mountain Man

*Anberlin – Feel Good Drag (How cool is it that the band is from the little teeny town right next to mine?)

New Surrender

*Cage the ElephantIn One Ear and Back Against the Wall. (PS – want a good laugh? Watch the music video for Back Against the Wall. It’s absolutely ridiculous!)

*The Starting Line – Way With Words

*Rise Against – The whole Appeal to Reason CD! (I know I’ve recommended it before but seriously, if I’m compiling my favorite workout songs, the list really isn’t complete without it!)

Appeal To Reason

*The Sick Puppies – Maybe and Too Many Words

*Linkin Park – Waiting for the End

*Skillet – Awake and Alive. (Simultaneously beautiful and intense. Perfection!)

Awake

*Phoenix – 1901

*The Swellers – Sleeper

Ups and Downsizing

Whew! I wasn’t planning on writing so many, but I got a bit carried away! Happens to the best of us.

Do you remember the first concert you ever went to? What’s your favorite genre of music? What are your absolute favorite workout songs?

6 Comments on “Music is Life”

  1. Sounds like fun!
    My first concert was… get ready for it… Smashmouth. It was the concert that was paired with the Rock and Roll Marathon, which we volunteered for so we got free tickets. Funny enough, 10 years later I ran the marathon 🙂

  2. Rise Against is one of my favorite bands! I agree on their CD- every song is so good.

    First concert I ever went to = Backstreet Boys. It was in 6th grade with my friend’s parents. Clearly it was insane, wild, and crazy 😉

  3. The first concert I went to was Bush X with Veruca Salt opening.

  4. My first concert was Alanis Morissette when I was about 10, with my parents obviously.

    I can’t pick a favorite kind of music!

    Fave workout song… just playing some “Bye Bye Bye” or “It’s Gonna Be Me” by N Sync and try not to move your body. It’s not possible!

  5. Haleigh says:

    The first concert I ever went to was Hanson when I was 11. They were from my hometown, and a huge deal back in 3rd grade. As for my favorite genre, I was spoiled listening to Swedish radio for 2 years while I lived abroad. Sweden really has some great music. Except for the fact that now I don’t favor any music that I’ve heard in the states recently.


Leave a Reply

