Tangy Eggplant and Rutabaga Salad

Good afternoon! Hope you’re having a great day!

I didn’t have a lot of time for lunch this afternoon so I was incredibly glad to have made a quick and easy recipe last night. It came in very handy!

blog 1627

Tangy Eggplant and Rutabaga Salad

Vegan, Serves Two

Ingredients

  • 1 medium rutabaga
  • 1/2 medium eggplant
  • 2 tablespoons EVOO
  • 1 teaspoon dill weed
  • 1 teaspoon parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/3 cup Drew’s Lemon Goddess Dressing
  • sesame seeds (for garnish)

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 425*
  • Peel and cube rutabaga; dice eggplant. Toss with olive oil, dill, and parsely.
  • Spread veggie mix over baking sheet with tin foil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  • Roast for 15 minutes; stir/rotate; roast for 10 more.
  • Transfer to a large dish; chill thoroughly. Pour on Lemon Goddess, toss until evenly coated, and serve with a sprinkling of sesame seeds!

blog 1609

Incredibly simple and delicious!

Eggplants and rutabagas aren’t exactly neutral flavored vegetables, but the combination works, especially with the tangy dressing to tie it together!

blog 1630

Theoretically now I should get back to the TONS to do before the gym this evening!  I have a feeling I’ll be baking and playing on facebook instead :/ Gah, thank goodness it’s only a three day week and then a LOOOOOOONG holiday weekend!!!

PS – Got a second? CSN giveaway over at Everyday Foodie! Who couldn’t use some extra holiday help?

5 Comments on “Tangy Eggplant and Rutabaga Salad”

  1. That looks soo good! Now I finally have a healthy eggplant recipe besides ratatouille.

  2. I’ve actually never eaten a rutabaga! What does it taste like? And is Drew’s goddess dressing like Annie’s?

    • Faith says:

      It’s mostly like a potato but tarter – almost a bitter taste so you definitely need something to help neutralize it. It’s great, though! I’ve actually never had Annies (I KNOW!!!), but it’s awesome – one dressing I always have in my fridge at all times 🙂

  3. maggie says:

    Wow this looks fantastic! So lovely. Might need to go get myself an eggplant…. 🙂

    Maggie

    http://www.mybreakfastblog.com

  4. Thanks for blogging about my giveaway 🙂 Good luck to you!!!!

    I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

