Grandma’s Request: Mocha Meringues

My family has always said I take after my grandmother: blonde and blue-eyed, strong-willed, and loud. I’ll proudly own all of those traits, but I’m also excited to have inherited her love for the kitchen.

As per usual, she was responsible for most of the cooking for Thanksgiving, but she delegated the task of coffee-hour desserts to me. She instructed me to create her time-tested chocolate meringue cookies, which I tweaked into a mocha cookie with a single simple addition. Light and fluffy yet indulgent, they made the perfect sweet accompaniment to espresso and card games.

 

Mocha Meringues

(makes 12)

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon butter or butter substitute
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 275*
  • In a small dish, combine dry ingredients.
  • Break and separate eggs; whip egg whites until foamy and gradually beat in dry ingredients. Whip until foamy peaks stay stiff.
  • Pump into frosting bag (or if you’re fancy like me, a Ziploc with one tip snipped!) Squeeze into 12 cookies on a tin-foil lined baking sheet and bake for one hour.
  • While cookies cool, melt chocolate chips along with the teaspoon of butter. Drizzle over tops of meringues and serve!

Thanks, Grandma, for sharing the recipe and for letting me take over your kitchen to whip them up! (I probably should tell her this in person since she not only lacks an internet connection but any idea what a blog is, much less how to find mine!)

Off for a much- needed pedicure and dinner at my best friend’s new house! Have a great Saturday night!

 

 

5 Comments on “Grandma’s Request: Mocha Meringues”

  1. These are gorgeous! I am making them asap 🙂

  2. Yummy!!!! I bookmarked these!

  3. Those are beautiful! They look like they stepped off of some fancy Food network dessert show. Really…so impressed with your mad baking skillz! 🙂

  4. sophia says:

    What a coincidence! I just had a friend ask me if I knew any good meringue recipes…I’ll have to share these with her! 🙂

  5. Those meringues are very pretty – thanks to your grandma!


Leave a Reply

