See-Food, not Seafood!

I’ll never forget the look on my boss’ face when I ordered a salad at a Maryland restaurant after my coworkers decided to drive all the way from D.C. for some world-famous Chesapeake clams.

Not only was I a vegetarian, but I’d never been one to appreciate the unique flavor of ocean critters.

While I happily subscribe to a See-Food diet (I see food and then eat it!) , the extent of my fish consumption (in my meat-eating days) was a sushi roll or a bite of calamari smothered in marinara.

Imagine, then, how confounded I was when deciding on a meal reflective of Baltimore culture for my Ravens-inspired edition of eating through the NFL. Maryland’s claim to fame is their fresh bay seafood – how is a vegetarian supposed to base a meal on lobster, clams, or crab?

Enter Skallops, a high-protein and low-fat vegan alternative to traditional scallops. I’d seen them for quite some time at Chamberlain’s, my local health food store, and have been intrigued by them for some time, but always opted instead for a less processed protein source. However, in the name of today’s recipe, I decided to give them a go as the star of a Pecorino and Parsley “Skallop” Pasta.


With a very mild, neutral flavor, the skallops  didn’t give the dish an overpoweringly “seafood” taste, and they were certainly a fun way to switch up my protein sources. Extra virgin olive oil gives the meal a dose of healthy fat while tomatoes, parsley, fresh garlic, and Pecorino Romano cheese add just enough flavor to take the pasta from simple to delectable.

Pecorino and Parsley “Skallop” Pasta

Vegetarian, serves four

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (2 cups) Skallops
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup fresh cut parsley
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 cloves fresh garlic
  • 8 ounces whole wheat linguine
  • 1/8 cup grated Pecorino Romano cheese
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Peel and dice garlic. In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil and sautee’ the garlic until lightly golden brown.
  • Cut Skallops into small, bite size pieces and add to the garlic. Stir occasionally for 8 minutes.
  • Add tomatoes, parsley, and oregano to saucepan and continue to cook over low heat.
  • Cook pasta; drain and pour into saucepan. Thoroughly combine all ingredients. Plate and sprinkle with Pecorino.

Although the texture of the skallops was far from that of “real” seafood, it was a delicious vegetarian way to channel the traditional foods of Baltimore.

On that note, let’s go Tampa…show those Ravens who’s boss!

9 Comments on “See-Food, not Seafood!”

  1. Meg says:

    Mmm I can’t deny my love for seafood, but that recipe looks amazing! I love Maryland and all of it’s seafood shenanigans, and I think you did a BALLER job of making a protein packed recipe! 😀

    Enjoy your day!
    xo Meg

  2. Okay, I really don’t like pasta, but that looks incredible! Maybe I can like it after all 🙂

  3. Lookin’ good!!!!!!!!! I haven’t seen the Skallops here yet, what brand are they?

  4. I’ve never had those skallops but I’ve had vegan shrimp. They were good but a little creepy! I did like seafood when I was a meat-eater so it can be fun to have a vegan alternative sometimes.

  5. I too am on the see-food diet, ha!! Your meal looks amazing…I am going to have to try that!

  6. This looks delicious! I’ve never heard of “skallops”. I love real scallops, but only recently. I was never into seafood – until I went to Italy and had fresh, amazing seafood! Yum.
    Heidi xo

  7. joanne says:

    I’ve never heard of skallops. Interesting. I’m vegetarian well…”pescatarian” because I do eat fish. I love the sound of that dish. The cherry tomatoes…that does it for me. I’m up for making it 🙂

  8. Whoa, I had no idea they made Skallops. That pasta looks sooooo good.

    Sorry about your Bucs! It was a close one!

  9. Katy says:

    Oooooo this looks good! I’m going to make it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

