Ten Minute Mild Vegan Curry

In an ideal world, I’d have nothing to do all day but create and blog about healthy, hearty recipes. Unfortunately, since I have yet to receive an offer to become Peyton Manning’s personal chef/adoring stay-at-home-fan, I’m hanging onto my day job and squeezing in cooking whenever time permits.

Some days, that time is a lot less prevalent than others. Luckily, that doesn’t have to translate into Burger King or skipped meals.

blog 1661

Ten Minute Mild Vegan Curry

Sauce adapted from Cooks.com

Vegan, serves three.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup soy milk
  • 3/4 cup Lite coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons whole wheat flour
  • 1.5 tablespoons curry powder
  • 1.5 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon Smart Balance Light
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 15 ounce can baby corn
  • 1 8 ounce can water chestnuts
  • 1 8 ounce can bamboo shoots
  • 1 GoGo Organic brown instant rice bowl

Directions:

  • In a large saucepan, melt SBL; stir in flour and spices. Add milks and combine, stirring occasionally for 5 minutes.
  • While sauce simmers, microwave your rice bowl and open/drain veggies.
  • Dump veggies into sauce; stir together and simmer for two minutes.
  • Plate rice and ladle curry over top. Enjoy and get on with your life!

blog 1650

While I love a good, spicy curry, this was a terrific mild version for those with an aversion to strong flavors. I think next time I’ll be throwing in some cayenne for some extra zip.

blog 1645

Cashews or almonds would be delicious sprinkled over the top for some crunch and protein!

blog 1653

Far better than a Toxic Hell Taco Bell burrito, no?

Off to the gym with The Coach! I’m making him take his first yoga class – should be interesting 😉

10 Comments on “Ten Minute Mild Vegan Curry”

  1. Katy says:

    Mmmmm this looks great! I’m always looking to try new things! 🙂

  2. i love baby corn! for some reason my husband isn’t a fan…which is silly to me!

  3. Baby corn, bamboo shoots, and water chestnuts! Those are all fun veggies that I haven’t eaten in a long time.

    Whenever I think of baby corn I think of Tom Hanks in “Big.” =)

  4. This looks REALLY good! I actually like mild dishes better, so this is right up my alley. 🙂 I’ve never made curry before but your recipe doesn’t look too intimidating. I’ll have to give it a try!

  5. Sarah says:

    Dinner looks yummy! I’m curious to know about the Coach’s reaction to yoga. I got my hubby to go once; he’s since stopped making fun of me for practicing and realized just how tough a class can be:-).

  6. yummy! i love me some bamboo- i cant find it very often though 😦

  7. Simple, easy and tasty..love it!

  8. Curry is definitely my “Spice Find” of the year!
    Holy YUM!
    😀

  9. Yummm, curry is my favorite! So comforting!

  10. You put all my favourite ingredients into that curry 🙂


Leave a Reply

