Show-off

Sometimes a girl needs a little zen yoga to help her forget about the fact that her mattress is soaked in cat pee; other times, a girl needs a class with a few challenging poses in order to show off a bit 😉

Is it completely dreadful of me to love the fact that I was able to get into side crow for the first time after working on it for almost a week…coincidentally on the same night I talked my football playing, yoga skeptic of an ex into attending a class with me?

side crow Source

Although the class was a beginner-level flow, the instructor decided to play around with a few more challenging poses. The Coach kept up with the standard poses and sun salutations quite well, but by the end he was admitting that it wasn’t a “softie workout” like he’d always assumed!

Next on my (devious) agenda: get him to a power vinyasa session 😉

One of the best parts about staying friends with The Coach is getting to pick his brain for strength training ideas! I finally bit the bullet and joined the gym, so I’m hoping to take advantage of the weight machines they have available. I picked his brain for a few ab and arm circuits and more than held my own during my reps! I’m not going to lie, I kind of beasted at chest presses!

I may not like having a running partner, but having someone to push you during a weight session is awesome!

Our post-workout re-fuel snackage were Vegan Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars. We were so hungry that we each had two!

These bars are a cross between chewy granola and a dense muffin. The Coach didn’t have a clue that I cut the “butter” with apple sauce and the reliable flax egg trick to make them even more nutritious for a killer snack or breakfast component!

blog 1641

Vegan Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

Makes 6 medium-sized bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water, chilled)
  • 1/4 cup Smart Balance Light
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • In a medium bowl, combine all dry ingredients.
  • In another large bowl, combine wet ingredients; slowly add in dry and combine until thoroughly distributed.
  • Pour into a lined baking pan (I used two miniature loaf pans) and bake for 20 minutes or until top is browned.

blog 1620

For such a modest recipe, they sure got a few compliments 🙂

blog 1642

What’s something you can’t help but show off with? Any major achievements lately you want to toot your own horn for here?

17 Comments on “Show-off”

  1. Those bars look so so so good! Omigosh!

  2. Heyy, I wish I had more time but I have an essay waiting to be written… Anyway, I want to tell you I received the cranberry bars this afternoon and they’re gone already 😀 ❤ I snapped some pictures that i'll include in one of my upcoming posts – as soon as I get the chance to blog!! Thanks again 🙂

    • Faith says:

      Oh gosh I’m SO glad they got there safely and that you enjoyed them! Hopefully they were still fresh after the trek to Canada 😉 Good luck on the essay – I have a poetry portfolio to do myself…not exactly highest on my list of things I want to do 😉

  3. Weighting For 50 says:

    You successfully did the side crow????? Woo Hoo, that is NOT easy!! (and not attainable by any that were in my last yoga group!) Our hats off to you! Actually, should be mats off to you… 🙂

  4. Yoga is sooo awesome! I looove it!!!!! Sometimes it really is great to have someone who will push you to work harder!

  5. inviting an ex to yoga?? uh-oh.

    Actually crow is the pose I’m aiming towards too! I can finally get up for about 3 seconds. Now I just need to BREATHE there!

  6. Recent achievenemts : 94 and 92 percent on my first two grad school midterms. Highest in the class!!

  7. And yet apparently I cannot spell achievements 😉

  8. These look really good! Congrats on being able to do that yoga pose, that looks so difficult.

  9. my show off: i taught an amazing writing lesson today! writing is HARD to teach some days, but today it went so well

  10. Uh nope, no recent victories. But I’ll admit, I do like taking my mom to workout classes like aerobics or yoga and watch her struggle a bit. She regularly bikes 100 miles and can run 10 miles and is really strong so I like to be better at something. 🙂

  11. these bars look amazing! so peanutty and dense.!
    i pretty much show off every food creation i make to my family- !

  12. Shannon says:

    wow, i’m totally impressed 🙂 i can’t wait to be able to do yoga again! And those bars, they look soooo good!

  13. Sarah says:

    I don’t think showing off for said ex is dreadful at all. You go, Faith!

  14. Oooo rock on! That is absolutely amazing. I don’t think I’ve tried side crow.

    I can do toe stand and I’m pretty proud of that 😉

  15. Salah says:

    those look so amazing!!! I am craving peanut butter soooo bad right now!!!


Leave a Reply

