Semi-Homemade Thai Noodle Salad

Remember the commercials for the fingertip toothbrushes a few years ago? Somebody tell me I wasn’t the only person who still knows the “rip, slip, brush, Ahhh” jingle!

With all those oh-so-important things floating around in my head, it’s no wonder I can’t remember basic mathematical formulas or the fact that my car insurance bill was due yesterday.

I couldn’t help but bop around my kitchen singing (in my head, of course) “Rip, Steam, Stir, Ahhh” as  I whipped up tonight’s dinner. It was that simple, my friends.

blog 1362

I think Sandra Lee was right on the money with her “Semi-Homemade” idea.

blog 1368

blog 1358

I whipped up a box of Thai Kitchen Thai Peanut noodles and sauce, pan-browned some tofu in reduced sodium soy sauce, and steamed a half pound of fresh string beans and a half pound of snap peas.

blog 1367

Naturally, everything is more fun to eat with chopsticks 😉

The noodles are all natural, but lacking in much nutritional value straight out of the box. Two simple steps and another ten minutes rounded it out with some protein and veggies!

If only all of life were that simple!

What’s your favorite way to quickly alter a boxed/canned meal to up the health factor?

12 Comments on “Semi-Homemade Thai Noodle Salad”

  1. Looks tasty!!! And yes, I remember the commercial….we still sing the jingle sometimes!!!! =D

  2. Katy says:

    Ooooo this looks great! I want to try! 🙂

    I usually add lots of fresh veggies to make a meal a little healthier! 🙂

  3. That noodle salad looks really nice on the black plate – great photos!

  4. Oh yeah, I remember Brush-Ups. I had a box of them in my locker in high school!

  5. i always add veggies to the pre-made meals. healthier and yummier

  6. Eunice says:

    Your pictures make that tofu look extra delicious! I need a fingertip tooth brush.

  7. oooh, that looks fantastic.
    i definitely add veggies to most of my meals, especially soups and pasta. my favorite trick is to put my grain on top of a bed of spinach. 🙂

  8. That looks yummy! Although I am a total fail at eating with chopsticks! 😛
    I agree with the other commenters- its all about adding the veggies! 😀

  9. I totally do this too! I like to jazz up simple box stuff with extra veggies and/or tofu. Last night I used frozen brocolli, tofu, and a can of black beans to make an awesome stir fry!

  10. Shannon says:

    hehe, i don’t think i know that jingle 😉 but i’ve got plenty of them circling around up there! this looks delish, and much better than watching sandra lee 😉

  11. kbwood says:

    oh YUMMM!! I love jazzing up things with veggies 🙂

  12. That looks so good! I know Ramen is totally horrible…but I love the oriental flavor with TONS of broccoli and spinach added!


Leave a Reply

