Roasted Strawberries and Plums with Brown Sugar Yogurt

In blog land, it’s rare to see a day where at least one of the posts that pop up in my Google Reader don’t discuss roasted veggies of some sort. String beans, broccoli, sweet potatoes…you get the picture.

Trust me – I understand the roasting love. In fact, I understand it so much that I couldn’t help but roast my breakfast this morning!

blog 1851

Simple enough to make before my coffee kicks in, yet luscious enough to make my Monday morning a little smoother of a transition back to life!

Roasted Strawberries and Plums with Brown Sugar Yogurt

Vegetarian, serves one

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh strawberries
  • 1 large plum
  • 1 teaspoon butter/butter substitute
  • 6 ounces plain Greek Yogurt (I used one of the containers Chobani sent me to sample)
  • 1.5 teaspoons dark brown sugar

Directions:

  • Slice strawberries and plum and toss in a large bowl.
  • Melt the butter and drizzle over fruit; spread over tin foil lined baking pan and bake for 8 minutes at 375*
  • While fruit roasts, stir brown sugar into yogurt.
  • Remove fruit from oven, allow to cool for 5 minutes, then spoon over the top of the yogurt.

blog 1866

When I was a little girl, one of my favorite desserts at my grandmother’s house was fresh strawberries with a sour cream and brown sugar dip. This carries the same flavors but in a breakfast-friendly incarnation!

blog 1861

I’m enjoying the roasted fruit as I laze into my day, oddly enjoying the DOMS (delayed onset muscle syndrome) I woke up with as the result of an amazing whole-body workout that I BEASTED yesterday. I’ve got the lowdown and a Next Big Thing inspired playlist headed your way this evening!  Have a great Monday, everybody!

15 Comments on “Roasted Strawberries and Plums with Brown Sugar Yogurt”

  1. ahh anything with brown sugar rocks! i LOVE the yogurt combo! i could just eat that plain1

  2. Oh my word! I’ve never roasted fruit before!!!! That looks fantastic! Can’t wait for the lowdown on the workout!=D

  3. I’ve never thought to roast strawberries before! I bet they’d be super sweet 😀

  4. Weighting For 50 says:

    Oh wow….I just found a recipe for roasted strawberries on Saturday and thought I MAY give it a try. After reading your post….I KNOW I’ll give it a try. Have a great Monday.

  5. Little Bookworm says:

    Never heard of roasted strawberries before! Thank you for the comment on my blog. 🙂

  6. greensandjeans says:

    My heart is going pitter patter at the THOUGHT of roasting strawberries! That sounds ammmazing

  7. Sarah says:

    Roasted strawberries?! Brilliant!

  8. Katy says:

    Mmmm I’ve never roasted fruit before, but it sounds GREAT! 🙂

  9. Roasted fruit sounds great! I do love cooked fruit. When I was in Prague I was obsessed with “hot forest fruits” which was essentially a cooked berry compote.

  10. […] Roasted Strawberries & Plums with Brown Sugar Yogurt […]

  11. Ooh looks yum! I’ve also never tried roasting fruit before, but I will now! 🙂

  12. cbrady3 says:

    I’ve never seen roasted fruit! Looks incredible!!

  13. kbwood says:

    WHAT this sounds ballin girlfriend!! I LOVE cooking fruit- brings out sooo much flava!

  14. Faith says:

    I’m all about the roasted veggies too…it’s so quick and it brings out so much flavor! Roasted strawberries is brilliant, I will definitely be making this!


Leave a Reply

