Vegan Coffee Scones with Coffee Icing

I literally just smacked myself in the forehead.

I spent twenty minutes typing a hysterical narrative detailing my decision to make coffee-laced scones as my Eating Through the NFL installment since Starbucks is the first thing I think of when I hear Seattle.

Tiny problem: We’re playing Washington today, not Seattle.

In fact, we aren’t due to play Seattle for two more weeks, and I just used my delicious Seattle-ite recipe for the Redskins.

I officially am as dense as our quarterback, and yes, as a matter of fact, I am a blonde, thank you for asking.

My saving grace is that food inspired by Seattle can still qualify as food inspired by Washington on the grounds that Seattle is a city in Washington and thereby a legal substitution (penalty for dumb mistakes shall be declined – replay first down.)

That’s my logic and I’m sticking to it. Now, on to the good stuff.

It’s no secret that I love me my coffee and I love me my scones (I even brought one home from Starbucks in lieu of a birthday cake this year!)

With all the baking I’ve been doing this weekend, however, the last thing I wanted to do was stuff leftovers from another batch of sugary goodies into my freezer. A miniature, two-serving batch seemed like the perfect solution: one for now, one extra just in case it turned out especially good 😉

Vegan Coffee Scones

Good it was, my friends, good it was.

vegan coffee scone

Vegan Coffee Scones with Coffee Icing blog 1873

Scones adapted from Food.Com; serves two

Ingredients (for scones):

  • 1/4 cup oat flour
  • 1/4 cup unbleached white flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 3/4 tablespoon raw turbinado sugar (plus additional for topping – optional!)
  • 1 tablespoon vegan butter (I used Smart Balance Light)
  • 1/4 flax egg (1/4 tbsp ground flax + 3/4 tbsp water, stirred and chilled)
  • 1/16 cup brewed coffee
  • 1/16 cup vegan milk (I used Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze)
  • 1/8 cup raisins
  • 1/8 cup slivered almonds

Ingredients (for icing)

  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vegan butter (again, SBL)
  • 2 teaspoons brewed coffee

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Assemble your flax egg and pop into the fridge to “gel”.
  • In a medium bowl, sift together dry ingredients (flours, sugar, and spices).
  • In a small dish, combine together wet ingredients (flax egg, milk, coffee). Add to dry ingredients along with your raisins and nuts, stirring until an evenly distributed dough forms.
  • Divide dough into two portions and form into triangular mounds on a greased baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes.
  • While the scones cool, stir together frosting ingredients. Use a spatula to spread across top of completely cooled scones.

blog 1874

Be still my heart.

The coffee flavor in the scones themselves is fairly subtle, yet it really pops in the icing; meanwhile the warmth of the spices make them reminiscent of a steamy latte.

vegan coffee scone

Sweet carby deliciousness, drippy icing, and hints of coffee in each warm, chewy bite? Can you get any better than this?

I’m a little glad I mistook my teams 😉

19 Comments on “Vegan Coffee Scones with Coffee Icing”

  1. Totally acceptable brainfart. And now you’ll just have to use coffee again in two weeks, and that is definitely a good thing!

  2. Mmmm love me some coffe-flavored anything! Did you know that coffee is supposed to be heart-healthy? Just one more reason to drink it in the morning, and throw it in baked goods!!!! =D

  3. Wow, that’s one good looking scone. Love the glaze.

  4. Simply Life says:

    Oh those scones look great!

  5. Weighting For 50 says:

    Be still my heart….this look BETTER than any scone in Starbucks! (no offense to them!!)

  6. I love how this recipe makes such a small serving. I hate it when I have to cut down recipes for like 16 servings when I just want to make something for myself!
    These look delicious! Can you believe I’ve never tried a scone?

  7. Oh man…I just made glazed scones today, but I wish I’d made these instead! I love the coffee flavor – and in all honesty, I probably never would have realized Seattle was irrelevant to playing Washington had you told the story. – in fact, when you first mentioned it I had a “isn’t Seattle in Washington? What’s the problem?” momet.
    Shows how much I know football 😛

  8. Mmmm….want. I’m getting snowed in over here, will you please fedex me a batch of those?

  9. Katy says:

    Mmmmmmm yum! I can’t wait to make this!

  10. squigglefloey says:

    Oh goodness, your scones look so moist and gooey inside! Normally I see scones that are hard and not as moist, but those look amazing! Great job girlie 🙂

  11. runyogarepeat says:

    I’ll try anything with coffee, especially since I’m studying for an exam all about coffee culture. These look great!

  12. greensandjeans says:

    We can pretend these are politically correct scones to make them work for DC, right?

  13. i love that you mixed up washington like this-i’m from washington state, and i have had to say “no, not DC” sooo many times! nice for someone to mix them up the other way 🙂

  14. these are gorgeous and so cute! i haven’t had a scone in ages- its about time!

  15. Hmm I wanna make these non-vegan..they look great!

  16. Someone at work was talking about coffee icing the other day, and I had never heard of it! I planned on finding a recipe for some, and you just helped me out with that!! Thanks!

  17. […] to repeat last week’s mixup, I double checked the schedule a few times before embarking on the NFL theme of the […]

  18. I love that you made a mini-recipe for 2 scones! This is perfect for me! I ❤ anything in mini-servings…
    I have always wished that marinara sauce people would make tiny servings of sauce! Like maybe the size of an apple sauce container… For people who live alone or in a small household, it would be perfect!


Leave a Reply

