Vegan Chai Spice Walnut Cookies

Just when I thought I was hard to cook for, along comes my mother.

She calls herself vegetarian but eats chicken; she calls herself vegan but eats eggs… can I just call her crazy?

Her dietary restrictions posed the biggest challenge for me as I’m creating a baked good for my family members as part of their Christmas presents. Of course, I believe that there’s nothing a dash of creativity and resourcefulness can’t work around, and these vegan chai spice walnut cookies are the proof in the pudding batter!

vegan chai spice walnut cookie

What I am to coffee, my mother is to chai. (Slightly addicted, that is.) She’s been a huge fan of the drink ever since I can remember, so it was my natural choice to add a special touch to her cookies.

After a horrendously failed attempt at vegan chai shortbreads, my eyes nearly bugged out of my head when I popped one of these into my mouth and was met with a cakelike cookie with a gentle yet soulful touch of vanilla, warm spices, and – just like my mother – a bit of nuttiness. blog 1811

Vegan Chai Spice Walnut Cookies

Makes 12

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unbleached white flour
  • 2/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup walnut slivers
  • 1/3 cup vegan butter (I used Smart Balance Light)
  • 2 flax eggs (2 tbsp ground flax + 6 tbsp water, stirred and chilled)
  • Contents of 2 chai tea bags (I used Celestial Seasonings)
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, whip your margarine and powdered sugar together until smooth.
  • Add flax egg and vanilla; continue to whip until evenly distributed.
  • Sift in flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and the loose contents from the chai tea bags. Add in walnuts and stir until dough is evenly formed.
  • Drop in 12 small balls onto a greased cookie sheet; bake at 375* for 15 minutes.

 

blog 1842

 

9 Comments on “Vegan Chai Spice Walnut Cookies”

  1. Gina says:

    These cookies sounds delicious 🙂

  2. Yuum! Can you send me some of these, pretty please?????? =D

  3. Katy says:

    Mmmmm these look amazing! 🙂

  4. This is the second chai based dessert I’ve scene in blog world, I’m starting to wish I had some chai in my life…

    Your mom’s dietary labels crack me up 🙂

  5. these are hands down the most unique sounding cookies ever! these sound awesome !

  6. Lisa says:

    MMM looks delish! I wonder if I can make them without walnuts, since I’m allergic!

  7. The photos in this post are extra fabulous today!!! Wowzers!

  8. Weighting For 50 says:

    Oh yum!! My brother and his wife have recently gone vegan, and I think they’d REALLY like these. I’m going to make them a batch as a surprise!!! Thanks for posting!


Leave a Reply

