No-Mayo Vegan Potato Salad

I’ve mentioned before that mayonnaise and I are simply incapable of coexisting. The smell, the texture, and the taste all make me feel incredibly squeamish, effectively eliminating most deli salads from my diet. Rather unfortunate, given the classic nature of potato salad, macaroni salad, and cole slaw.

Of course, if there’s one thing that blogging has taught me, it’s that nothing cannot be adapted to meet an individual’s tastes or dietary restrictions. A direct replica may not always be the end result, but a dish with distinct influences is often a better expectation.

A thick and creamy dressing with a hint of tanginess is the key to tying together a potato salad. Turning to avocado for it’s healthy fats and velvety texture was a natural substitution for the eggy mayonnaise, and a generous amount of dill mirrors the spicing of the original version.

blog 1929

No-Mayo Vegan Potato Salad

Vegan, Serves four

Ingredients:

  • 6 small white potatoes
  • 1/2 cup chopped carrots
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1/3 cup green salad olives
  • 1/2 large FLORIDA avocado
  • 1/8 cup almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons dried dill
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1.5 teaspoons garlic salt
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon white pepper

Directions:

  • Peel, chop, and boil the potatoes for 8-10 minutes or until soft. Drain and cool over ice.
  • Chop carrots and celery. Add to cooled potatoes.
  • In a food processor, pulse cubed avocado, almond milk, lemon juice, and spices until a smooth dip forms.
  • Pour dip over potatoes, carrots, and celery and still until the potato chunks are fully coated.
  • Chill before serving.

blog 1924

 

I was pleased with how light and fresh it tasted, especially compared to traditional potato salads!

 

blog 1923

Can summer hurry along so it’s picnic season again?

Do you have a particular ingredient that you dislike to the degree of avoiding any food that includes it?

13 Comments on “No-Mayo Vegan Potato Salad”

  1. Lovely! I never liked mayo, either. I’ve gotten more tolerant of everything so now I can enjoy Vegenaise in small quantities, but I don’t eat it just because it’s not that healthy. But your recipe looks great!

  2. Katy says:

    Looks yummy! (And I love how you emphasize a FLORIDA avocado. ;))

    I hate hate HATE orange juice or anything orange related. I can’t stand it! (One too many Screwdriver drinks at a party will do it to you :() When I look at oranges I gag. :/

    The only thing I can have oranges in is my cranberry sauce I make for the holidays- and it’s only because you can’t taste the orange!

  3. Awesome idea!!! Thanks! I don’t like mayo either, so I’ll probably try this out soon!

  4. Thats such a brilliant way to make potato salad! I’m also not a fan of mayo… and I also wish it was summer 😥

  5. Sarah says:

    I don’t like mayo, either, but avocado? I’m a big fan! What a tasty-looking recipe. I hope I remember this one when picnic season rolls around!

  6. Katie says:

    Ummmmmmmm yeah I am sooooooooo happy you came by my bloggie because now I see this amazing recipe!!!!! This look so good!

    Oh and Hibachi is the best! It was actually I believe a green onion soup, not miso, but it was good!!!

  7. Loved this recipe, girl!
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. wolfenstein says:

    wow! delious~!!!!

  9. Weighting For 50 says:

    Great recipe! I don’t mind mayo, but will give this a try anyway!

  10. greensandjeans says:

    I love mayo, but I still think this looks fantastic! I can’t do anything with mushrooms or eggplant, they just give me the heebie jeebies!

  11. I feel the exact same way about mayo. Yuck. I do not eat any of those traditional salads like potato or macaroni. Unfortunately, one of the other ingredients I can’t stomach is dill! I don’t know why, it just tastes WRONG to me! Otherwise your recipe sounds great – love the idea of using avocado.

  12. khaughney says:

    Ugh, I hate mayo too! I can sometimes handle it in chicken salad, but that’s it.


Leave a Reply

