Gingery Butternut Squash Soup

To call winter the season for soup would be a considerable understatement…

blog 1977

Long days and cold nights certainly require a warm, easy, and comforting dinner, and if soup doesn’t possess those qualities, I don’t know what does!

Butternut squash is one of my favorite things to build a soup with – naturally low in fat and high in vitamin A, C, and potassium, it’s easily whipped until smooth as a velvety soup base.

I’ve made quite a few squash soups before, but this time around, I wanted to experiment with a flavor variation in the form of fresh ginger.

blog 1954

It had the potential to be divine, but it also had the potential to be disgusting…

blog 1968

Thankfully, it turned out to be a delicious risk!

blog 1971

Gingery Butternut Squash Soup

Vegan, serves four


blog 1975

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium butternut squash
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh ginger
  • 1/3 sweet onion, diced
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • drizzle of olive oil

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Cut squash into four quarters. Remove strings and seeds (set aside seeds for roasting as a garnish if so desired). Coat fleshy sides with olive oil and lay skin-down in a baking pan; cover with tin foil and bake for 1 hour or until squash is easily punctured with a knife.

blog 1940

  • If you chose to roast the seeds as a garnish, toss them with a few drops of olive oil and a pinch of garlic salt. Arrange them on a cookie sheet or in a miniature loaf pan and pop them into the oven alongside the roasting squash for 4-8 minutes or until lightly browned and crispy.
  • Warm the drizzle of olive oil in a small pan while dicing the onion; sauté’ for 3-5 minutes.
  • Skin and mince the fresh ginger.

blog 1960


  • Once the squash quarters have cooled to the touch, remove the skin and cut them into small chunks.
  • Drop squash, onion, ginger, broth, and almond milk into a food processor and blend on low speed until smooth.
  • Transfer to a medium pot and heat over low heat, stirring in the salt as the soup simmers for 10 to 15 minutes.
  • Serve warm! Garnish with vegan sour cream (or Greek yogurt as I did) and roasted squash seeds.

blog 1969

The ginger flavor was ever so subtle – for a bolder taste, consider increasing the amount used to 1/3 or even 1/2 cup. I, however, enjoyed the ginger as just a slight undertone.

blog 1976

PS – check out this post from March 2010 for my first experience with butternut soup. Not only is today’s soup a far cry from a microwaved bowl of V8 in my dorm, but I can’t believe how my blog has progressed since then! On that note, stay tuned for a rambling verbose yet insightful writing-themed post this evening!

What is your favorite soup ingredient? Also, if you have a blog, how has yours changed from when you first started writing? I’d love to see links to your first-ever posts, by the way 😉

13 Comments on “Gingery Butternut Squash Soup”

  1. Yummy!!! i’ve never had butternut squash before!!! That soup looks tasty, though!

  2. I had a really similar soup last week with red lentils blended in for some protein! I agree, the ginger goes surprisingly well with squash 🙂

  3. Weighting For 50 says:

    I have a cold right now, and would LOVE a bowl of this. Actually, two bowls!!

  4. I absolutely love butternut squash soup, and I think a subtle ginger flavor sounds delicious!

    Wow, my blog has progressed so much since I started it almost a year ago. While the concept behind mine was always “whole-self health,” I really think that my posts have gotten closer and closer to embodying what that really means. It’s been such a learning experience for me!

  5. greensandjeans says:

    Ginger and butternut squash are two of my very favorite ingredients! I think anything squash automatically makes a killer soup.

    My blog has changed A LOT recently with my job/move, for the better I think. It allows me to put more of myself out there and while I’ve always enjoyed doing it, I really look forward to sitting down and writing every day!

  6. Katy says:

    Mmmmm I love butternut squash! This looks delicious!

    I haven’t had my blog for too long for it to have a huge change. My writing has gotten a little better, but my pictures are still sub-par. I am saving up for a D-SLR however and that’s when I believe my blog will TRULY change. 🙂

    This is my first post: http://bit.ly/gmo4QO

  7. Every time I contemplate making a squash soup, I can’t make it past the roasting stage! Seriously, I love eating squash straight up so much.. I don’t think pureeing it into a soup would do it justice for me!

  8. ginger in a squash soup is a fantastic idea.

  9. Faith says:

    What a delicious soup! Love the addition of ginger and your idea of roasting the seeds for garnish is brilliant!

  10. I die for anything with butternut squash in it! This looks fab!

  11. i LOVE ginger ever since I used it with tofu! my favorite soup ingredient is probably peas!
    My blog is fairly new but I still laugh at how lame my first post was:

    http://movesnmunchies.wordpress.com/2010/11/11/officially-a-blogger-and-abnormal-obsessions/

  12. Sofia says:

    what beautiful photographs! and the le creuset makes all food prettier, of course. i never thought to use ginger with b-squash. where the heck have i been? will certainly give something like this a try soon!


Leave a Reply

