Vegan and Gluten Free Mint Chocolate Cookies

blog 1821

After whipping up vegan chai spice walnut cookies for my mother and raw cookie dough balls for my grandfather, my grandmother was third and final family member I decided to customize a cookie for.

blog 1804

She’s the only person in our family who eats anything, anytime, but after she mentioned her curiosity about gluten-free baking, I decided to play with an oat flour for her treat. With a sweet tooth that rivals mine, I knew that any flavor I chose would be a hit, but I settled on a classic chocolate-packed recipe with a minty essence for a special seasonal kick.

blog 1828

Vegan, Gluten-Free Mint Chocolate Cookies

Makes 10 jumbo cookies

Adapted from Ginger and Berries

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 8 tablespoons vegan butter such as Smart Balance Light
  • 1 cup raw turbinado sugar
  • 2 flax eggs (2 tbsp flax seed + 6 tbsp water, stirred and chilled)
  • 1 teaspoon pure peppermint extract
  • 1 teaspoon pure almond extract
  • (optional) powdered sugar for topping

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 340 degrees.

  • Mix dry ingredients (flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt) together in a medium bowl.

blog 1807

  • In a small saucepan, melt together the butter and 1/4 cup of the chocolate chips. Slowly add in the turbinado sugar and stir until completely dissolved. The first batch I made came out slightly crystalline because the sugar didn’t entirely dissolve in the mixture (which I’d microwave).
  • Add the flax egg, almond and peppermint extracts to the melted chocolate butter and mix until smooth.
  • Drizzle wet ingredients into dry ingredients; add remainder of chocolate chips and mix until smooth.
  • Drop spoonfuls onto baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes or until tops are slightly crackly. Allow to cool and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

blog 1822

These are a richer, fluffier, whole foods version of thin mints!

I die. And then come back to life, crumble one over vanilla ice cream, consume, and die again.

blog 1832

Merry Christmas, nee-nee, and thank you for being the first one to encourage my kitchen shenanigans!

12 Comments on “Vegan and Gluten Free Mint Chocolate Cookies”

  1. Yum!!!!! And such pretty cookies too! Where do you buy oat flour? Or can you make it by putting oatmeal in the food processor??

  2. Omgsh, I love anything minty+chocolaty. And I love gluten-free baking, it’s always more exciting 🙂 I’ll have to pick up some oat flour and do some of my own experimenting! Or just make these 😀

  3. Katy says:

    Mmmmm these look delicious Faith! Care to send me some? 😉 Haha…just kidding!

    Thank you so much by the way for suggesting Busboys and Poets to me! It was AMAZING!

  4. Simply Life says:

    oh those look PERFECT!

  5. I am such a sucker for chocolate mint things. I hate combining chocolate with other flavours (like, it seriously grosses me out) but for some reason I absolutely adore it with hints of mint and orange. These cookies look ohmygosh good 🙂

  6. Those cookies look very Christmasy 🙂

  7. Weighting For 50 says:

    Awesome looking cookies Faith! Happy holidays to you!!!

  8. Absolutely “LOVELY” christmas cookies: very seasonal and wonderfully done
    Katherine

  9. Those are SO beautiful… and Christmassy. So perfect for today. 🙂

    Merry Christmas!

  10. Faith says:

    These look delicious and it was so sweet of you to customize cookies for your family members! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas!


Leave a Reply

