Easy Lemon Pepper Tofu

Now that I’ve…erm…recuperated from Saturday night, I was able to do some serious work on dinner this evening.

 

blog 2164

 

Better yet, that work was of the eating variety, seeing as the cooking had already been done over the weekend!

Most of the time, I’m a comfort foods girl. Put a semi-healthy spin on pasta, bread, or soup and I’m good to go. The raw foods movement never really grabbed much of my attention. Sure, I can plow through a good salad like no other, but the rest of the time, I want my food cooked. Raw food lacks some key density in keeping me full.

Tofu, however, rarely makes it past the package in the Lovely as Charged kitchen. I’ve roasted it on occasion and once tried pan-frying it (with disastrous results), but to me, tofu is best raw with a good marinade.

 

blog 2162

 

A good tofu marinade has an oil base, a slightly acidic component, and a zippy combination of spices to make up for what tofu lacks in the flavor department.

 

blog 2153

 

This simple lemon pepper marinade definitely hits all three and comes together in two minutes!

Easy Lemon Pepper Tofu Marinade

Vegan, serves 2-3

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp poppy seeds
  • 1 tsp lemon pepper seasoning
  • 1 tsp ground mustard
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions:

  • Add all ingredients to a medium dish and stir with a fork.
  • Drizzle over raw tofu cubes and allow to marinate at least 4 hours (the longer, the better!) Cook the tofu according to your favorite method (if you absolutely insist), or simply enjoy straight out of the refrigerator!

 

blog 2166

 

This definitely seemed like a tofu dish you’d run into at Whole Foods.

 

blog 2163

 

I really can’t imagine why so many people dislike tofu – perhaps because of the notion that it’s bland and slimy? One bite of this flavorful and fresh tofu dish and even the most dedicated hater may change their mind!

I’ll see y’all on the flip side of a run and some ab work!

What’s your favorite tofu recipe? Any other crazy raw tofu lovers out there?

20 Comments on “Easy Lemon Pepper Tofu”

  1. hippierunner says:

    I don’t mind eating tofu raw and plain, haha not a habit but if I’m starving and need protein I just munch on some. I like to use Trader Joe’s Taco Seasoning packets to flavor tofu for tacos!

    http://hippierunner.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/lemony-tofu-tacos

  2. Katy says:

    Looks DELICIOUS!!! I will have to try this soon!!! I have tofu in my fridge! 😀

    My favorite tofu dish is Caitlin’s Perfect Baked Tofu. I actually just had it for dinner. Haha. 😀

  3. Picky Nicky says:

    I think I like raw tofu too because I always snag pieces before cooking it. Maybe I should just accept the fact that it’s tasty when it’s raw 🙂

  4. I rarely eat tofu—I just haven’t prepped it in a way I really like it! But I’ve had it in salads that I ordered that was really awesome.

    I’m not a big fan of it cooked either!

  5. Weighting For 50 says:

    You know, I’m not a huge tofu fan, but this recipe makes me want to give it another chance! So glad your new job is going well, have a great week!!!

  6. Lauren says:

    This looks amazing!! I like raw tofu but I’m usually the opposite. Most times I eat it pan fried or baked. And when I’ve eaten it raw, I’ll just have it plain, or maybe with a bit of balsamic. I love this idea for a marinade. And next time I’ll have to try just marinading it and leaving it raw.

  7. Savvy says:

    I like raw tofu marinated with a bit of vinegar/tamari and chives. It’s really refreshing on salads. This lemon wonder looks fantastic! I think it’ll be next on my list to try as soon as I nip out to whole foods for some of the organic stuff.
    I actually eat tofu raw far more often than cooked as I don’t like my tofu fried.

  8. andi says:

    thanks for posting this! I’ve been tempted to try tofu for so long, but am entirely intimidated by it … probably because of a bad experience when I was younger. I’ll have to give this a shot.

  9. I’ve honestly never eaten a lot of tofu, but what I’ve tried, I’ve liked!

  10. I love tofu raw! When I am cutting it up to throw in a stir-fry, I always sneak a few pieces to just eat plain. I have never tried it with flavours like this, so I have to switch it up a bit from the usual stir fry …

  11. Gillian says:

    My sister-in law makes “tofu puffs” (tofu packed with air sold at Asian markets) fried up in mustard in this tangy sauce…they are so good! They taste like wings and my carnivorous fiance loves them!

  12. I love raw tofu! I love all kinds of tofu, actually. There’s a recipe for cashew ginger tofu that’s really good. I used to HATE tofu, though, before I went vegan. So glad I got over that!

  13. I love that idea of lemon peppper flavoring, but be careful eating raw tofu! Unless it’s vacuum packed or one of the already baked varieties, it can be dangerous to eat raw. Check out this link: http://www.savvyvegetarian.com/articles/tofu-food-safety.php

    • Faith says:

      Wow, I’d never heard any of that information before. Thanks for the link! That’s definitely something I’ll do some more research on now that I know it can have a bacteria issue :/

  14. LOVE TOFU YES! and i love trying new things with it! my fav marinade so far is Gliding Calms!

  15. Hmm, raw tofu? Haven’t really given it a chance.

    But my go-to way to cook tofu is to sautee it with veggies and soy sauce. Yum yum!

  16. yesss I love raw tofu too!
    I don’t really have a fave tofu recipe though- I need to make this though!

  17. […] my Lemon Pepper Tofu post, Jen left me a link with some information about raw tofu. Since I tend to prefer my dinners as […]

  18. Mis En Plas says:

    Thanks, for the recipe looks great! Question, though. Recipe calls for poppy seeds. I see sesame seeds in the photo. Typo, or did you intend we could use either/or?


Leave a Reply

