I Declare Victory!

I declare victory over a perpetual inability to sleep in. It was ridiculously exciting to see 10:35 on my clock when I finally rolled out of bed this morning!

Before my feet hit the floor, though, my ribs hit…a box?

blog 2254

 

I was so exhausted when I got home from watching the playoffs with The Coach last night that I managed to fall asleep with a present in my bed.

 

blog 2256

 

In honor of my new job, he made me (!!!!) an engraved pen and case set. How legit is that?

Of course, he’d hit the nail on the head with the quote, choosing one from the legendary Vince Lombardi:

“I firmly believe that any man’s finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle – victorious

It was such a sweet gesture I didn’t mind finding it with my ribcage when I woke up!

Shortly after, a fabulous – albeit late – breakfast presented me with an opportunity to declare victory over the ever-elusive perfect omlette.

 

blog 2219

 

The other half of the bagel got smothered in wild cherry preserves.

 

blog 2214

 

Thank you, momma, for the Panera gift card to support my whole grain bagel habit! Victory over a grocery budget? Yes, indeed!

Oddly enough, sleeping in has made my day infinitely more productive. I’ve already marked dishes, laundry, and lunch prep off my to-do list. and plan to emerge victorious from my black hole of a closet.

Man I feel like mon-ay…

Now if Da Bears could make a decisive victory over the Seahawks, it’ll be a perfect sweep of a day!

What are you declaring victory over today?

8 Comments on “I Declare Victory!”

  1. I can’t sleep in either!!!
    What a sweet gift! =D

  2. I find that I am usually much less productive when I sleep in!! Good for you for getting things done 🙂 I need to start using my time more wisely, as I waste a lot of time, that could be better spent checking things off my to-do list!!

  3. So glad you finally got some well needed sleep! And today, I declare victory over the snack monster – I packed out all my meals for work earlier today 😉

  4. Hmmm, oh, I organized my shelves today in my kitchen! That was very victorious for me. I DID NOT sleep in, though, because my cat got me up at six thirty am. Oh well.

  5. We declared victory in the hunt for a new kitten today!

  6. what an awesome meal- two sides of a bagel, one with yummy egg and the other with cherry preserves spread ontop!! DYNAMITE ❤
    the pen is really beautiful- i love how its personally engraved and the box is just as lovely with a beautiful Lombardi quote ❤

  7. Lauren says:

    Congrats on the new job! That pen is beautiful!! And I love that quote.

    Glad you were successful at sleeping in. I tried to today because I have the day off, but my internal alarm is so annoying and wouldn’t let me.

  8. greensandjeans says:

    What a sweet present! Of course, as a Packers fan, I definitely have to approve of the quote! 🙂


Leave a Reply

