Jalapeno Lime Tofu

Good evening guys! Has it been as long of a Monday for you as it has been for me? My afternoon was spent pouring over medical journals and trying to translate lab results into English. What’s that, boss? You want me to throw a journalistic spin on it too? Suuure, no problem! Err…..

Thankfully, a great dinner is able to melt away some of the challenges from a long day at the office.

 

blog 2259

 

Jalapeno lime tofu qualifies as a killer dinner component, don’t you think?

 

blog 2262

 

Yes, yes I do. Especially when it draws upon a feisty flavor combination that’s been rattling around in my head for a week!

 

blog 2260

 

After my Lemon Pepper Tofu post, Jen left me a link with some information about raw tofu. Since I tend to prefer my dinners as close to bacteria-free as possible, I went ahead and cooked the tofu this time 😉

 

blog 2247

Jalapeno Lime Tofu

Vegan, serves two

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 block of extra firm tofu
  • 2 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/2 lime
  • 1/4 tsp jalapeno powder
  • 1/8 tsp garlic salt

Directions:

Press and cube your tofu. Oh you fancy, huh? Use a tofu press. You a broke-azz just-outta-college-kid? Wrap it up in paper towels and toss a phone book on top. Your choice.

Measure out your olive oil into a small dish. Squeeze the juice from the lime into the oil and wisk together.


blog 2241

Stir in your spices:


blog 2249

 

Drizzle your marinade over the top of your tofu, ensuring all tofu is fully covered. Plop in the refrigerator to marinate for at least an hour. The longer, the better though! Mine sat for four hours and was incredibly flavorful.


blog 2251

 

When you’re ready to cook it, simply drop straight from the bowl into the pan. The oil from the marinade will serve as your cooking liquid!

Over medium heat, cook the tofu until it becomes brown. Flip it frequently to keep it from burning or sticking to your pan. Here is where I’d assume a pair of kitchen tongs would come in handy. Again, if you’re broke like me, a spatula works here too!


blog 2258

De. Freakin. Licious.

 

blog 2257

 

I love how well the fresh zip of citrus works well to flavor tofu. I squeezed a little lime wedge over the top for an extra kick, but it was awesomely zesty straight out of the pan!

Off to the gym, darlings. See you all tomorrow!

15 Comments on “Jalapeno Lime Tofu”

  1. This looks awesome! I wish I was fancy with a tofu press lol but sadly I’m in the *other* category. Where did you find the jalapeno powder by the way?

  2. Looks delicious! I’ll have to try it!

    That link about tofu is interesting. I never knew that! Thanks for passing it along!

  3. The flavour combination in this dish sounds perfect for me! I am loving lime these days, and am trying to incorporate it into as many dishes as possible.

  4. This sounds so good! I didn’t even know jalapeno powder exists but now I must have it.

  5. Looks amazing!
    Thanks for the recipe! =D

  6. so writing this down! i love new tofu recipes!

  7. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Uhhh….YUM! That looks so amazingly good 🙂 I usually just cook the tofu with some garlic salt and pepper, and throw it in some rice, but I definitely want to do this next time!

  8. […] Jalapeno Lime Tofu?! I’m in! on January 18th, 2011, […]

  9. Ooo where do I get jalepeno powder?

  10. Savvy says:

    Mmm-MM! This looks delicious: bright, flavorful and perky, just the thing for a Canadian evening when it’s pitch black at six and you’re missing the Florida sun. Can’t wait to give this a try?
    ps: oh you fancy huh – love you. just love you.

  11. Krista says:

    This sounds yummy and I just happen to have a half block of tofu sitting pretty in my fridge. I’m thinking dinner tomorrow night….

  12. Ha! I graduated from college ten years ago in May but work for a non-profit and am still broke-azz and use the papertowel with something heavy trick 🙂

    That looks awesome. I think you may have officially changed my dinner plans for tonight!

  13. fried tofu says:

    The pictures are fantastic, lovely decorated food.
    Thanks for this simple tofu recipe!


Leave a Reply

