Spicy Quinoa Stew

 

blog 2222

 

I know what you’re thinking.

Girl, that don’t like like stew to me…”

Oh, but it is.

 

blog 2231

 

Stew: A method of cooking by which food is barely covered with liquid and simmered slowly for a long period of time in a tightly covered pot – Epicurious,com

 

If Epicurious say it’s a stew, then it’s a stew, dammit.

 

blog 2228

 

One bite and you’ll be so enamored with the flavors and textures, you won’t care what it’s called as long as you’ve got a nice, full plate of it in front of you!

 

Spicy Quinoa Stew

Vegan, Serves 2-3

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup red quinoa
  • 1/2 head cauliflower
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup chopped carrots (approx 1 dozen baby carrots)
  • 1 can low sodium veggie broth
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder

Directions:

  • Pour veggie broth into a medium sized pot and bring to a boil.
  • Add quinoa; cover and return to low heat, allowing quinoa to cook for 5 minutes.
  • Chop cauliflower and carrots into small pieces – add into mixture.
  • Toss in your spices, re-cover and continue to cook over very low heat for 35 minutes, stirring occasionally and adding water as necessary to keep the stew from burning and/or sticking to the pot.
  • Drop in spinach, simmer for five more minutes.
  • Serve warm!

 

blog 2221

 

A single serving of this quinoa and veggie stew nets you 11 grams of protein and 14 grams of fiber, but if you’re anything like me, you’ll be jonesing for seconds!

16 Comments on “Spicy Quinoa Stew”

  1. Sruthi says:

    This quinoa stew looks great. I love red quinoa.

  2. YUM! i just bought some quinoa TODAY!

  3. Kelly says:

    I just bought qunioa today too! But I didn’t buy red qunioa…surely that wouldn’t matter??

    • Faith says:

      Nope, there’s really no difference!

      • Kelly says:

        Awesome!! I have everything and am making it tonight. The hubs is EXCITED!! I am probably going to use chicken broth and mix in some chicken sausages (my husband won’t eat anything without meat). I will let you know how it goes!

  4. greensandjeans says:

    cayenne pepper and garlic salt should be in everything.

  5. That looks amazing! I’ve been loving quinoa lately.
    And I’m really glad you appreciated the quotes on my recent post 🙂

  6. Meg says:

    I’ve never had quinoa before! This looks amazing and the perfect definition of stew 😉

  7. That looks positively beautiful… I don’t care what you call it 😉

  8. That looks lovely! And stew is a wonderful thing-no sense in letting meat eaters have all the fun!

  9. Looks fantastic and beautiful! 😀

  10. I like really thick stews, too!

    How did the Orlando visit go?

  11. Lauren says:

    Who cares if it doesn’t look like a typical stew — it looks fantastic!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’ve never tried red quinoa….only yellow (is it technically yellow?? haha). But I really like the way this sounds. 🙂

  12. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have been looking for new ways to use quinoa, as I finally started to like it.


Leave a Reply

