Chilled Greek Veggie Salad

Even though I usually grab at least one new dish at the Whole Foods hot bar each time I drop in, I always gravitate back to their Greek tomato salad. Artichokes, tomatoes, cucumbers, and feta in a tangy dressing? Yeah, I can’t see why I’d ever pass it up.

Oh, right. Because I accidentally bought $9 worth of it last time I was there.

How dat happen?

With the upcoming move putting a huge damper on my eating out budget, I decided to recreate a home version of my favorite veggie side.

blog 2171

It wasn’t a doppelganger, but delicious nonetheless!

blog 2140

See those beets? 

They never made it into the salad.

I couldn’t open the jar. I tried for five minutes straight, but no dice. Back into the fridge they went.

blog 2142

Even still, there were more than enough other goodies to make up for it!

blog 2145 blog 2146

Though absent from the Whole Foods version, I added some asparagus and cauliflower for bulk. When it comes to veggies, the more, the merrier!

blog 2170

Chilled Greek Veggie Salad

Vegan, serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 head cauliflower
  • 1 – 16 oz can marinated artichoke hearts
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 2 medium vine tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup green olives
  • 1 cup asparagus, chopped
  • 1/4 cup EVOO
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • Dash each: Oregano, Pepper, Garlic Salt

Directions:

Combine EVOO, vinegar, and spices in a small dish.

blog 2149 

Chop veggies and drizzle mixture over the top.

blog 2152

Pop that bad boy into the fridge for at least two hours and enjoy!

blog 2168 

What’s your favorite Whole Foods hot bar dish?

7 Comments on “Chilled Greek Veggie Salad”

  1. Yum! That salad looks so good! And I could make it here!!! Yay!

  2. Sarah says:

    Yum- looks like you did a great job with that salad!
    I don’t have a Whole Foods nearby, so when I do get to one, I just take a little of everything that looks appealing- especially if it involves seitan, tempeh, or quinoa.

  3. This looks fantastic!
    I could never pick a favorite WF hot bar dish. But their yellow beet, fennel, and apple salad is amazing, and their vegan potato salad is really good (that’s not hot, though…) I like to find recipes that I just would be too lazy or untalented to make myself.

  4. I have never been to WF hot bar! Boo on me 😦
    Th salad looks great though!

  5. cardiopizza says:

    What a fabulous salad! That looks delicious!

  6. Never had any Whole Foods hot bar dishes 😦 I have only been to WF once!

  7. This looks fab!
    Even though we have a WF around here, I still haven’t eaten from the hot bar yet! I know, this is a crime. 😉


Leave a Reply

