Smile For ‘Em

Thank you all so much for your kind words on last night’s post. I’m so glad to know that you all can relate. That’s all I want in life.

Well…maybe that, and an egg and provolone sandwich on garlic naan bread, plus a heaping side of fresh berries.

Wait, I need apples and peanut butter as well. A life without making shark shapes in your food somehow seems like quite the dull one.

Wait, would it be greedy to ask for some sushi too? Homegirl could really go for a veggie roll right now. Yes, I’m aware that it’s not even 8 AM…but it’s 5 o’clock somewhere, no?

Smile for ‘Em

Heading home last night, I stopped to hand a homeless man a few dollars. As I gave him the bills, he looked me in the eyes and told me “When you go in to work tomorrow, be sure to smile for ‘em – it’ll make their day like you just did for me.”

Honestly, if a few dollars and a five second smile can make a stranger’s day, imagine the impact that same joyful attitude could have on those that we see on a more frequent basis! Lots of the time, we scuttle around with our noses in our Smart Phones, inadvertently wrinkling our foreheads or crinkling our faces into a scowl. When did we forget to look up and crack a grin?

9630_1144815297827_1150830080_30387809_4102281_n

Do it. Do it now. Do it often.

Are you doing it?

How about now?

Now?

I’ll shut up if you promise to smile 🙂

What’s the best advice you’ve ever gotten from a stranger?

2 Comments on “Smile For ‘Em”

  1. Sarah says:

    I read this post on my cousin’s facebook recently: “The other day I pulled up to a drive threw, the lady at the window was smiling as usual, I said to her “my, you’re always so happy” and her response was “you never know who’s gonna need a smile” Words to live by!!
    Love.

  2. You look gorgeous in that picture 🙂 Smiles are contagious.


Leave a Reply

