Curried Coconut Mango Rice

Let’s have a quick chat about the B word.

BUDGET

As little as I like the word (and like the concept even less) I do like having a roof over my head, and I’m quite also fond of electricity. You know, the little things in life. Little things that can suck up not-so-little chunks of money.

While I’m not able to tell you how to cut down your monthly rent, I am able to tell you how to assemble delicious yet wholesome meals on the cheap. Despite the pricey meat substitutes and organics on the market, it’s entirely possible to eat clean, vegetarian meals without breaking the bank!Yes, cheap vegetarian food does exist – and no, it doesn’t entail Taco Bell bean burritos.

For my upcoming original recipes, keep your eye out for a budget breakdown at the bottom of each post, as well as a new page categorizing all the $5 or less meals!

To kick off the series, let’s take a peek at a surprisingly cheap dinner with an even more surprising flavor explosion: Curried Coconut Mango Rice.

Fruit Curry Ingredients

You say you want something salty, a tad spicy, and with a subtle dash of sweet?

Curry Powder

This dish has it all – and for less than $2 per serving at that!

The light coconut undertones perfectly counter the rich curry flavor, and the juicy, succulent mango adds an extra touch of sweetness. Between the fluffy rice, chewy raisins, crunchy peanuts, and soft mangoes and onions, there’s no shortage of texture in the dish either!

 

blog 2421

Coconut Curried Mango Rice

Vegan, Serves Two

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups water
  • 3/4 cup (dry) brown rice
  • 1 large ripe mango
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1/4 cup peanuts
  • 2 tablespoons (1 ounce) raisins
  • 1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  • Bring 3 cups water to a boil; add rice, cover and move to low heat. Allow to cook for 45 minutes total.
  • Peel and dice your mango and onion.
  • When rice is 10 minutes from being finished, warm the coconut oil in a medium saucepan. Add your onion, salt and curry powder, stirring often until cooked all the way through.
  • Add mango to saucepan, stir and remove from heat.
  • Drain and plate rice; top with curry and garnish with raisins and peanuts.

blog 2414

Ingredient Cost
Brown Rice ($3/16 ounces) $1.00
Mango (on sale at Fresh Market) $ 0.50
Onion $0.50
Coconut Oil ($4/16 ounces) $0.25
Curry Powder ($3/4 ounces) $0.10
Peanuts $0.50
Raisins $0.75
Total Budget Breakdown $3.60/2 servings ($1.80 per serving)

See you all tomorrow!

What’s your favorite inexpensive vegetarian meal?

7 Comments on “Curried Coconut Mango Rice”

  1. Emily says:

    I’m going to LOVE this series since I’m in the midst of my last semester of college and my bank account is basically on it’s last leg. I like to eat healthy and whole foods, but I feel like I’m alwaaaays in the grocery store spending insane amounts of money. Eeeeessssssssh!

  2. Meri says:

    That looks delicious- I never have put raisins in my curries before but I love them- great idea!

  3. I’m all about brown rice and beans (with some veggies thrown in for god measure) when it comes to vegetarian meals. Simple, tasty, and cheap!

  4. cardiopizza says:

    That looks great! I just made a great cauliflower soup that can be vegetarian if you swap out the chicken broth for vegetable broth. I love veggie soups and stews!

  5. LOVE THIS! I am all about making healthy delicious meals on the cheap! The recipe I just posted today is pretty darn inexpensive, although I don’t know the actual tally since most of the ingredients I had on hand.

  6. Mmmm how delicious! 😀 I love mango! 😀 I’ve been experimenting more with quick and easy meals…still haven’t had a favorite yet!

  7. How fun is that budget breakdown!!! That is so cool!!!


Leave a Reply

