Easy Fruit Salsa and Baked Cinnamon Sugar Chips

Hola, Chiquitas 😉 Happy Fiesta Friday!

For my office, Cinco de Mayo is coming a little early this year. Cuatro de Marcho? Now that’s more like it!

I have no clue how I’ll focus on any work of any shape or form until noon, simply knowing that homemade guacamole, sweet potato enchiladas and taco fixin’s are waiting for me come lunchtime.

For my contribution to the potluck, I whipped up a feisty fruit salsa and baked cinnamon sugar tortilla chips. Although I’d be perfectly happy to eat this now – for breakfast – I suppose I’ll be considerate and save some for the lunch!

blog 2436 

Easy Fruit Salsa

Vegetarian, serves a whole office!

Ingredients:

  • 2 large, ripe mangoes
  • 2 large kiwis
  • 3/4 cup pineapple, chopped
  • 2 red plums
  • 1/8 cup honey
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • cinnamon, to taste

Directions:

  • Peel and dice your mangoes and kiwis – toss into a large bowl with your diced pineapple.
  • Cut the plums into large chunks and drop into a blender or food processor with the honey, vanilla, and cinnamon. I used my blender, but I can assume this would work just perfectly in a food processor as well! Blend or process on high until no chunks of fruit are left. Pour “dressing” over the top of the other fruits.
  • Stir thoroughly, place into presentation bowl and chill overnight.

Baked Cinnamon Sugar Chips

blog 2448

Vegan, serves a whole office!

Ingredients:

  • 10 whole wheat tortillas
  • Olive oil (as necessary)
  • Cinnamon sugar (as necessary)

Direction:

  • Preheat your oven to 350*.
  • Use a pizza cutter to slice your tortillas into wedges.
  • Cover liberally with olive oil and cinnamon sugar mixture; place on large baking sheet.
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the sugar starts to melt and the tortillas are crisp.

Senoritas, this stuff is not messing around. The plum and honey drizzle keeps it from being just a fruit salad served on chips, and the baked tortilla chips are dense and crispy, even under the weight of the drippy, gooey sweet fruit salsa!

blog 2452

blog 2437

Ole’ and Adios!

What’s the last thing you brought to a potluck?

12 Comments on “Easy Fruit Salsa and Baked Cinnamon Sugar Chips”

  1. cbrady3 says:

    LOVE this idea for a pot luck! So creative!
    The last dish I brought for work friends was my vegan granola bars with apple butter.

  2. Wow, this looks delicious. I’d sub agave, of course…

    Last potluck I went to I supplied oatmeal peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. It’s very hard to go wrong with those. Another recent potluck when I was in more of a hurry I just brought Newman O’s!

  3. Ahh! Those chips look amazing! :)))

    I always bring cookies to everything… hahaa.

  4. That is a great potluck idea!! I can’t remember the last thing I brought to one, because we rarely go to potlucks.

  5. That looks incredible! Very chic too – like something I’d take to a potluck bridal shower 🙂

  6. Stephanie says:

    Hola! My first time visiting your blog! I saw that you did a post back in October on intuitive eating and not restricting yourself in regards to animal products. I’m going through a similar mindset now and just finished a month of intuitive eating. I’d love to hear more about your eating adventures! Look forward to reading your blog!

    • Faith says:

      Hi Stephanie! I’m so glad you found that post – I feel better than ever when I just eat what my body tells me it needs. I’m sure yours is the same! Glad to have you as a reader!

  7. Wow! This looks amazing! Definitely in time for spring! 😀

  8. this looks amazing!! did the olive oil taste weird with the cinn sug?

    • Faith says:

      Actually, you couldn’t even taste it! I’m sure you could easily sub coconut oil or canola if you wanted, but that was all I had on hand.


Leave a Reply

