I Got High (And I Liked It!)

Legally, of course 😉 Come on now, who do you think I am?

blog 2514

One of my friends is a flight instructor and just so happens to own his own plane. When he offered to take me up in it, naturally I jumped at the chance!

The ridiculously early weekend wakeup call was well worth it once I arrived at the airport and headed to the hangar.

blog 2510

While he ran pre-flight checks, I crawled into the cub and started exploring.

blog 2512

blog 2513 

Less than 10 minutes later, we were in the air! I couldn’t believe how quick the takeoff was – the plane was on the runway for all of twenty seconds before it was airborne!

blog 2515

We left the windows down to enjoy the gorgeous 80 degree weather. If you think driving with the wind in your face feels amazing in the car, multiply that sensation by a hundred for an airplane.

blog 2521

Halfway through the flight, he asked me if I wanted to take over the steering. Not one to turn down the offer to oh, you know, fly a plane, I tentatively took the stick, and with a death grip that could rival a python’s, I nervously navigated us towards the airport.

Once we were safely back on land, we browsed some of the other planes that were parked on the lot, including a World War II-era bomber!

blog 2532

Talk about adrenaline rushes! I’m already hoping we can do it again 🙂

What have you done this weekend/what do you plan to do? Anything crazy?

5 Comments on “I Got High (And I Liked It!)”

  1. Stephanie says:

    Wow! That’s so exciting! I’ve never been in one of those little planes, although I’d really like to.

  2. you’re so brave! I’m terrified of heights- I can’t even imagine sitting in that plane! Eek!
    I haven’t done anything crazy lately…I’m not much of a thrill-seeker haha. I wish I was though!

  3. Cool! My dad and brother both have their pilots licenses and I took flying lessons for a while. It is pretty amazing.

  4. I didn’t do anything crazy this weekend, but I did eat a lot of good food 🙂

  5. That’s so awesome! Looks like fun!


Leave a Reply

