Easy Creamy Vegetable Casserole

blog 2559

In my mind, this meal will forever be emblazoned “Sick Girl’s Casserole”. Soft on the belly, simple to prepare (even with a raging headache) and full of vitamin-packing veggies, this comfort food is the epitome of easy – even in the best of health!

I’m currently fighting a head cold and although the congestion is one thing, the medicine itself is kicking my ass. I’ve never responded well to cold medicines – one time Nyquil made me forget where the bathroom was. Somehow even after bawling in the middle of my dorm suite at 2 in the morning because I couldn’t remember where to pee, I still pop a few cold pills here and there when the symptoms reach a high level of discomfort.

Aside from making me dopey and completely out of it for the vast majority of my morning, the pills managed to kill my appetite. I munched on some nuts, soup and saltines throughout the day, but it was hard to get anything in…until 5:30 pm, when I was assaulted with a hunger so intense I was ready to eat the first thing I could get my hands on.

As I begged Haley to hurry up and do her business, my mind decided exactly what it wanted for dinner. As with most of my cravings, it was oddly specific and no substitute would make do. Thankfully, the creamy vegetable casserole was assembled in ten minutes, baked in fifteen and made entirely from ingredients most people – myself included – have on hand!

blog 2556

Easy Creamy Vegetable Casserole

Vegetarian, Serves Four

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans Amy’s Organic Cream of Mushroom Soup
  • 4 pieces of whole wheat toast
  • 1 can peas & carrots blend
  • 1 can green beans
  • Salt, Garlic and Onion Powder (to taste – optional!)

Normally, I stick to fresh vegetables for taste, texture and maximum nutrient content, but when my grocery store ran a special on their organic canned veggies, I stocked up on a few of each for incidents like today. Surely the fresh version of these vegetables would be absolutely perfect, but the soft, smooshy texture of the canned versions was exactly what I was after for this quick vegetarian casserole.

Directions:

  • Cut bread into medium-sized squares and spread across the bottom of a casserole dish.
  • Pour one can of the cream of mushroom soup over the bread squares.
  • Pour the contents of both cans of veggies over the soup and bread squares.
  • Top with the second can of soup and sprinkle with spices (if so desired.)
  • Bake at 350* for 15 minutes.

blog 2555

I failed to take pictures of the assembly process for fear that waiting any longer for dinner would cause my stomach to immediately eat itself and any other surrounding organs, and only three snaps of the finished product were taken before I unwittingly plunged my spoon into the mushy, gooey goodness.

Just what the doctor ordered? I think so! Off to make friends with Netflix!

3 Comments on “Easy Creamy Vegetable Casserole”

  1. Hope you feel better soon!
    Great recipe! 😀
    Oh and Allegra made me run into a wall and fall asleep in art class once….

  2. YUM that looks like total comfort food only way healthier!
    Get well soon! Have fun with Netflix 🙂

  3. That looks so creamy!!! Casseroles are awesome, and I need to start making more of them. I love 1-dish meals.


Leave a Reply

